We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel across the street from a fire station???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #16 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hotel across the street from a fire station???”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hotel itself and its staff was excellent but the decision to open this hotel across from a Fire Station was a real bad idea. It's obvious that the station was there long before this hotel was. Sirens were blaring all throughout the night and even a garbage truck in the alley with its reverse alarm going off on two separate occasions was enough for us to leave this place at 5:00AM. It's interesting to know that the hotel did provide one set of ear plugs so they are well aware of the noise issues. We can't squabble about the price since it was our annual one night free-bee from Marriott. It was the only hotel in this area, however, that qualified for the free stay. Now we know why. You get what you pay for. One more thing, $62.00 for valet parking is way wrong. $47.00 to self park and the hotel adds $15.00 on top of that. If you like the Marriott, as we do, stay at the Residence Inn at 201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast). We've never been dissatisfied while staying there.

Room Tip: stay on a high floor away from the front of the building, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taliano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
I am happy to see that you found our staff to be excellent, however disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Our parking prices are very competitve with area as they do include in and out privledges and are only $2 more than our fellow Marriott Residence Inn over on Walton. We are located in a bustling part of the city which includes our neighbors the Chicago Fire Department keeping all of us safe. Some nights are busier than others, however we will be sure to find you a nice high and quiet room should you allow us the opportunity to provide you accommodations in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and your Marriott loyalty!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    193
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
236
159
27
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a great place to stay if going to Chicago for many things. We were within walking distance to the Navy Pier and decided to use a cab for the rest of our trip. A cab to the other places (including Wrigley) was very reasonable, many times under $10. There is a Hertz rental agency 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for the excellent review Ron! Very happy that you were able to take advantage of our great location and were able to get around with ease. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again sometime in the future!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What a wonderful place! Everyone, I wish I could remember names better, Erica and another young woman who looked like her in a way, who had an english acccent were very helpful. They were so helpful and friendly. Never once did we lack a thing while we were in the hotel. The staff and housekeeping staff were second to none, really and truly. I had read some reviews prior to my stay about the fire department across the street being noisy and what not, but my husband and I did not lose one bit of sleep or rest because of that at all. We actually loved to sit on the second floor in the breakfast facility at night with our friends and have coffee and talk and watch the comings and goings of the fire department. I think the fire department people who were able to see us from their garage will miss seeing us. This room is usually dark at night but the staff very kindly turned the lights on for us every night that we sat up there. We even brought our own pizza up there to eat from a nearby restaurant one night! We did make sure to clean up after ourselves though to show the staff we respected their kindness. The staff in the breakfast room in the mornings were outstanding. Xavier and the petite asian woman were so gracious at breakfast time. The selection of food for breakfast was wonderful. There was oatmeal, cereal, sausage and eggs, fresh fruit, bagels, muffins...so much variety. How kind of this hotel for being so generous with the selection. The entire staff helped us when we asked about bus stops and other things like that. The rooms were decorated so nicely. Updated decor. Very clean and comfortable. So pretty. Much much nicer than I was expecting and I felt very grateful for that. Housekeeping was perfect. If we go back to Chicago, we are going back here. Stay here and you will not be dissapointed. It is also close to so many things including bus stops. Room 842 4/18-4/21/14.

Room Tip: I chose a room on the north side for the quiteness based on some reviews. As I said in my own revie...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have signs that remind a guest of ways to save on energy and resources such as reusing towels if one would wish.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VLFAllenPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for this wonderfully kind and comprehensive review of our hotel! We are very fortunate to have a dedicated team here committed to deliver an exceptional experience for our guests and I am so very happy to see that we succeeded in these efforts. I will be sure to post this review for everyone to see and celebrate Erica and Javier's efforts as well as Michelle, Fannie and Yvonne. Thank you again for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

In town for a convention, and I thoroughly enjoyed the easy access to downtown - a few blocks walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park, Art Institute. The daily breakfast was excellent and very friendly staff. I stayed up on the 15th floor - the room was comfortable and quiet. Perfect! Will return soon...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvhroxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We look forward to your return, thank you for taking the time to add to our online reputation! Happy to see you found our breakfast excellent and our service friendly and we look forward to delivering again during your next visit. See you soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bush, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here during her spring break to visit Chicago and catch two baseball games. The hotel is in a very convenient location centralized in downtown Chicago. It is a block and a half from the CTA and beautiful walk to the navy pier, as well as the Field Museum, planetarium, and Shedd Aquarium. The hotel staff is extremely friendly, and the included breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! We are in a prime location to hit most of the hot spots in Chicago and I am glad that you were able to take full advantage. We look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went to Chicago this past weekend to tour a couple of colleges and have some city fun! Loved this hotel. It was clean updated and the staff was amazing! We went to The Renaissance North Shore for the first night as we were touring Northwestern. The second night we planned on seeing Loyola of Chicago then play a bit in the city. This hotel was priced very well. Everywhere we wanted to go was within a 12 minute walk. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a king bed and sofa couch- worked great for the four of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momwithchildren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for the kind words! I am very happy that you found our hotel to be clean and that our staff was able to make such a positive impact on you. We look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North in mid-March 2014 for three nights. We were attending a convention at the nearby Hyatt Regency on Wacker Drive but the room rate at the Fairfield Inn was much better (even after a discount at the Hyatt for convention attendees) and we are both BIG fans of Marriott hotels. Great experience! It was good to see how Marriott's Fairfield Inn hotel brand was interpreted in an urban setting like downtown Chicago. Excellent decor, both in the rather smallish lobby area and in the ample size guest rooms. Huge breakfast area with large picture windows overlooking the local street scene. All our usual Marriott breakfast favorites were available and, of course, breakfast was free (as always at Fairfield Inns). The hotel is located just a short Red Line train ride away, north of the downtown loop, if that's what you're interested in seeing and doing. And it’s only a very short walk east towards the lake to the Magnificent Mile, which means art galleries, shopping, eating, theatre, etc. Great location! We reserved our rooms using a Marriott senior discount (62 yrs. +) and the room rate was only $135 per night for 2 double beds. You can also get lodging for $151 per night (king bed) with a AAA card. Either way, you can save quite a bit off the standard rate of $159 per night which really isn't bad either, when you consider you're staying in downtown Chicago in a pretty darned good hotel!

Room Tip: Just remember that the hotel is right across the street from a downtown Chicago fire station, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the excellent rating! I am happy that you were able to take full advantage of the surrounding area and that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#23 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 60 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North is a newer LEED-Certified Marriott hotel in downtown Chicago. Located in the trendy River North neighborhood just north of the Loop, this unique hotel offers full-service amenities at the Fairfield value. Enjoy free breakfast, property-wide WiFi, modern furnishings and high-tech amenities. Surrounded by the city's best restaurants and nightlife, our Chicago River North hotel is also within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile shopping, Millennium Park and Lake Michigan. Self and Valet parking is available (fee) and along with nearby convenient CTA and Union Station trains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing