We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #17 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved this hotel. It's upscale for a Fairfield - the room was quite nice. The location was fantastic. The staff though - they were absolutely incredible! Every single employee that we encountered exceeded expectations. They were so nice - every time we walked away from an interaction with a staff member we would once again say 'I can't believe how great the service is here'... Really awesome stay, will definitely return to this property.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Illinois street side have some city noise due to the fire department across the street...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LorT1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the very kind review! We have worked very hard to create the service culture that you have described and I am glad that it was able to be such a memorable and important part of your stay. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Like Rich R. said earlier, my stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, was enjoyable and easy. The staff is extremely efficient and cordial, from the point of walking in they provided a very fast and professional check-in and ultimately check-out ( I only stayed one night ). I found the room itself to be well appointed and modern in every aspect ( furnishings, lighting, Television, beds. ) and definitely a smart use of space ( see the closets and dresser / desk space. The bathrooms in terms of layout and decor are the high point of this property, as they are extremely accessible, well lit and spacious.

On all levels this hotel provides good access due to it's design and "foot print". I see it being especially attractive to business travelers. The breakfast is your "complimentary" fair breakfast as offered by this segment of hotels but the staff does the best job possible in serving and servicing the breakfast area and it's customers overall. Of course this property is accessible by all modes of transportation but for you train riders, I walked the 1.2 miles from Union Station ( I had one small bag ) to the hotel in about 20-25 minutes; this was a tour of Chicago in and of itself ( River walk to Wacker then LaSalle to Illinois).

Pros: Good hotel, efficient, pleasant staff, fast and easy check in /out, well located.
Cons: slow elevators, breakfast is a bit chaotic, Front desk Staff should acknowledge Rewards customers preferences, even if they can't be offered. note: none of these are deal breakers, this is good hotel with solid staff and service.

Room Tip: I was in room 734 and it was swell ;)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euriael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for the very comprehensive and thoughtful review, it is much appreciated you taking the time to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. I also very much appreciated your feedback regarding your Marriott Rewards preferences and I will be sharing this with our team as I completely agree - hopefully we are able to accommodate every request, but in the event we are not able to, it should at least be discussed and we find the best compromise possible. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We cashed in our 2 free hotel night vouchers and enjoyed some time in Chicago. We were able to check in early and got a great room (#1745....top floor on the opposite side of the fire station!). The hotel staff was very accommodating and we were very satisfied with the location. My husband is more familiar with the free breakfast option, and he felt that is was average at this hotel. A toasted bagel, yogurt and coffee were fine for me! With the help of Matthew, he mapped out the exact steps to take in getting to and from the hotel from the Midway airport location. Thank you....we had a nice time!

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on the back side of the hotel...there is a lesser chance that you will hear the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MissSwissJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Wonderful! I am glad that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago and that I was able to of assistance prior to your arrival. Feel free to reach out directly should you need any assistance in the future and we hope that you will choose our hotel again sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our recent stay at Fairfield Inn and Suites was very enjoyable and easy. From the moment we walked in the door at about 12:30 pm on the day of our arrival (expecting to just leave our luggage until we could check in at 3:00 pm and pleasantly surprised that we could check in immediately) until the moment we departed 4 days later we were treated like royalty by the staff. Danielle at the front desk is just incredible. The job she did in making us feel welcome and "at home" was fantastic. Her personality just shines and really affects the entire lobby atmosphere. The other staff always had a smile on their faces and were all very helpful, kind and pleasant as well. The room was very nicely decorated, clean, with a "new" feel to it. The breakfast area and food were nice. I would definitely stay here again when I come back to Chicago to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for this very thoughtful and kind review, I will be sure to share this with Danielle and celebrate a job well done with our entire team. We truly care about our guest's experience with us and I am very pleased to see that this commitment resonated during your stay. We look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and kids (aged 5 & 10) absolutely loved this hotel. Fantastic staff that knew customer service, great warm breakfast, polite and helpful concierge that we could purchase our trolley tour from and the room itself was modern, clean and exactly the location to all the places we wanted to see. Definitely a great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSmallsofGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you very much Smalls! We were recently awarded the Certificate of Excellence for 2014 from TripAdvisor and that is because of kind guests like you that take the time to share your experience with everyone, so thank you again! We look forward to seeing you and your family back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I cannot be anymore impressed on how well everything was during our long weekend stay. From front of the house to the back on the house. Staff was wonderful and went above an beyond to accommodate my needs. I had last minute changes to my reservation and the hotel staff fulfilled their duty of making it a pleasant stay for us. I will be staying here in the future & highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lrp04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your kind words with everyone! Our guest's satisfaction is our #1 priority and we have adopted the mentality when it comes to requests that if we can do it, we will do it no questions asked. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great downtown location, just 10 mins away from N. Michigan Ave and about 20-25 mins to the Navy Pier. We're there on July 4th weekend, the town was filled with people. I have to say it was indeed very lively outside the street and the fire station was pretty busy. The buzz would go off every now and then but we're on the 10th floor and were so tired after a long day out, so the buzzing of of the fire truck and ambulance didn't bother us that much.

The room was very new, clean and has everything that we need. Breakfast was standard. The bed was very comfortable and the air unit was good compare to other hotels, it doesn't make load noises.

We had a great experience at this hotel and would look into more Fairfield stay even in other cities in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jujubiyo433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel this past weekend for your accommodations during the 4th of July festivities in the area! No doubt about it that the city was very lively all weekend, and I am glad to hear that you were able to partake in the fun and that it did not disturb you during your sleep. I am also pleased that we could provide you with a positive impression of the Fairfield brand - these are what all the new ones are looking like, so get excited for some other great Fairfield around the world as well!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,772 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 60 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £94 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North is a newer LEED-Certified Marriott hotel in downtown Chicago. Located in the trendy River North neighborhood just north of the Loop, this unique hotel offers full-service amenities at the Fairfield value. Enjoy free breakfast, property-wide WiFi, modern furnishings and high-tech amenities. Surrounded by the city's best restaurants and nightlife, our Chicago River North hotel is also within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile shopping, Millennium Park and Lake Michigan. Self and Valet parking is available (fee) and along with nearby convenient CTA and Union Station trains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing