We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago hotel reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #23 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location and a new hotel with stellar service., Street side a little bit noisy. Parking adjunct to hotel. Rooms were clean and tidy. Convenient to lots of restaurants. Difficult to obtain reservations on summer weekends so book in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the excellent review and kind comment on the service here at the Fairfield. Our mission here is to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel on the block and it looks like we succeeded in doing so. I also appreciate the heads up to the TripAdvisor community about booking in advance - the word is spreading and our hotel is extremely busy, so yes please book in advance!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Finding a room that could hold 5 adult women was tough, but we lucked out at this location. it's perfect! Clean and welcoming. Bathtub had a little trouble draining but seriously...No complaints. Amazing restaurants everywhere around you in this location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Glad we were able to accommodate you ladies! It was a pleasure to meet you all, glad that you had a good time, and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights while visiting the Chicago area with our 2 children. This hotel was in a great location, very clean, and very friendly. The breakfast was good and the breakfast staff was very helpful in planning our days. We could not have asked for anything better, especially when you compare the price of the other downtown hotels. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DocEZEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for the very kind review! Glad to see that you were completely satisfied with your time with us and that our staff was able to be a part of that. We look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice and clean rooms. Close to public transportation. Free WiFi worked well. Only issue is street noise. They are across the street from a fire station. We stayed on the top floor on the opposite side of the building. Not loud enough to wake me up but loud enough to make it hard to fall asleep.

Room Tip: Recommend high floor on opposite side from fire engine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorChippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for the excellent review! One of the missions of our hotel is to be the cleanest and friendliest, so I am thrilled to see that these were two of your highlights from your stay. Thanks again for the excellent review and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent Service Hotel. From management and down. Amazing fantastic stay.
Used my Marriott points to redeem a one night stay here. Received a direct email from Matthew Front Desk Manager before and after my stay for any special requests or anything. I am very impressed with this level of service. We went on the weekend of Taste of Chicago and the hotel was fully booked. Although full booked and busy they were the front desk and everyone managed very well. I was impressed with the hotels automatic revolving door, the higher tiers of Marriott hotel doesn't have this in the area. The lobby was nice and warm very inviting. There was less than a 5 minute wait for check ins and was very accommodating. The security feature with using the hotel key card is very safe. It may be informative to let your guests know about this feature as I saw quite a few walking around the elevators not knowing that you had to tap keycard first and then push your floor number. We stayed in room 1045 as requested higher floor away from elevators and quiet room. It was very nice and the room included a fridge and very impressive bathroom layout. The glass door stand up shower was 4 class hotel like. Spacious counter space and mega size mirror very spacious bathroom. This room had no view of the city although we hardly were in the room to begin with but excellent sleep very quiet room at night. The elevators were very fast for the fully booked hotel. Breakfast was pretty good. The waffle line up was not fun I saw the line up for it and passed away as people were targeting that area first.
All in all excellent stay at the Fairfield Inn I was overly impressed with the level of customer service and attitude of employees working here. The room is not too small but very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again if I had to stay in Downtown Chicago. Thank-you Matt for the emails it is your service and training for the team members that make this hotel the best of service. Please keep it up I look forward till my next visit.

Room Tip: Room 1045 King size bedroom. New and nice quiet room. Request for higher floors not facing Illinois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerJToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

What a wonderfully thoughtful and detailed review of your stay with us, thank you! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan on returning in the future. The emails you described are just my way of opening that door to make sure each guest has the opportunity to provide us much appreciated feedback and to assist us in honoring any requests that we can. Thank you again for the kind review and I look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved this hotel. It's upscale for a Fairfield - the room was quite nice. The location was fantastic. The staff though - they were absolutely incredible! Every single employee that we encountered exceeded expectations. They were so nice - every time we walked away from an interaction with a staff member we would once again say 'I can't believe how great the service is here'... Really awesome stay, will definitely return to this property.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Illinois street side have some city noise due to the fire department across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LorT1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the very kind review! We have worked very hard to create the service culture that you have described and I am glad that it was able to be such a memorable and important part of your stay. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Like Rich R. said earlier, my stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, was enjoyable and easy. The staff is extremely efficient and cordial, from the point of walking in they provided a very fast and professional check-in and ultimately check-out ( I only stayed one night ). I found the room itself to be well appointed and modern in every aspect ( furnishings, lighting, Television, beds. ) and definitely a smart use of space ( see the closets and dresser / desk space. The bathrooms in terms of layout and decor are the high point of this property, as they are extremely accessible, well lit and spacious.

On all levels this hotel provides good access due to it's design and "foot print". I see it being especially attractive to business travelers. The breakfast is your "complimentary" fair breakfast as offered by this segment of hotels but the staff does the best job possible in serving and servicing the breakfast area and it's customers overall. Of course this property is accessible by all modes of transportation but for you train riders, I walked the 1.2 miles from Union Station ( I had one small bag ) to the hotel in about 20-25 minutes; this was a tour of Chicago in and of itself ( River walk to Wacker then LaSalle to Illinois).

Pros: Good hotel, efficient, pleasant staff, fast and easy check in /out, well located.
Cons: slow elevators, breakfast is a bit chaotic, Front desk Staff should acknowledge Rewards customers preferences, even if they can't be offered. note: none of these are deal breakers, this is good hotel with solid staff and service.

Room Tip: I was in room 734 and it was swell ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euriael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for the very comprehensive and thoughtful review, it is much appreciated you taking the time to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. I also very much appreciated your feedback regarding your Marriott Rewards preferences and I will be sharing this with our team as I completely agree - hopefully we are able to accommodate every request, but in the event we are not able to, it should at least be discussed and we find the best compromise possible. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 60 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £75 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North is a newer LEED-Certified Marriott hotel in downtown Chicago. Located in the trendy River North neighborhood just north of the Loop, this unique hotel offers full-service amenities at the Fairfield value. Enjoy free breakfast, property-wide WiFi, modern furnishings and high-tech amenities. Surrounded by the city's best restaurants and nightlife, our Chicago River North hotel is also within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile shopping, Millennium Park and Lake Michigan. Self and Valet parking is available (fee) and along with nearby convenient CTA and Union Station trains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing