We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff makes it better . . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #16 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Staff makes it better . . . .”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Went to Chicago this past weekend for the wife's birthday and stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River/North. It was what I've come to expect from the Marriott organization as far as comfort and cleanliness. But the staff at this hotel from the valet and housekeepers to the front desk manager and concierge were outstanding. Everyone there made us feel at home especially Robert, the concierge, who went out of his way to make our stay more pleasant. Next time I'm in Chicago I will be staying at this Fairfield.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnovak5282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the awesome review! I will surely pass this along to Robert and celebrate his efforts with our team and let our entire team know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. Feel free to reach out when you need to make those future arrangements and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    199
    36
    13
    3
See reviews for
253
165
27
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had the pleasure of taking my mother on her very 1st visit to Chicago. I chose this hotel basically for the rate (Sr. Citizen) but it exceeded all of my expectations. OMG, where do I start!!!!

1. 1st Matthew Noonan (Mgr) emailed me personally inquiring about any special needs my mother or myself might have. Talk about customer service!! He answered all questions and fulfilled all of my requests. Matthew, thanks so much for the extra special touch.

2. ROCKSTAR DANIELLE at the front desk served as my very own personal tour guide!! She was knowledgeable, patient, and did it all with a smile. Anything I needed to know about the hotel or maneuvering about Chicago she answered!!! Thanks Danielle<<-- Clone her

As far as the hotel is concerned it's modern, chic, and updated. We occupied the 2 bed suite on the 14th floor with a great view, and the coup de' grace FREE WI-FI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Breakfast was free and plentiful downstairs, and the hotel is a convenient walk to the Oriental Theater, The Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier or a quick cab ride whatever your preference.

My only CON---- Parking!!! It's a little pricey (however, this is downtown Chicago) and it's a walk from the hotel. Please be mindful of this if you have elderly parents or if you are alone. If that's the case I recommend the valet.

Room Tip: Top floor Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind review! We are fortunate to have a dedicated team here really focused on making sure our guests are completely satisfied and Danielle is no exception. I will be sure to share this with her and our team! Feel free to reach out should you need any assistance in the future and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location and a new hotel with stellar service., Street side a little bit noisy. Parking adjunct to hotel. Rooms were clean and tidy. Convenient to lots of restaurants. Difficult to obtain reservations on summer weekends so book in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the excellent review and kind comment on the service here at the Fairfield. Our mission here is to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel on the block and it looks like we succeeded in doing so. I also appreciate the heads up to the TripAdvisor community about booking in advance - the word is spreading and our hotel is extremely busy, so yes please book in advance!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long grove, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Finding a room that could hold 5 adult women was tough, but we lucked out at this location. it's perfect! Clean and welcoming. Bathtub had a little trouble draining but seriously...No complaints. Amazing restaurants everywhere around you in this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Glad we were able to accommodate you ladies! It was a pleasure to meet you all, glad that you had a good time, and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Ky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights while visiting the Chicago area with our 2 children. This hotel was in a great location, very clean, and very friendly. The breakfast was good and the breakfast staff was very helpful in planning our days. We could not have asked for anything better, especially when you compare the price of the other downtown hotels. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocEZEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for the very kind review! Glad to see that you were completely satisfied with your time with us and that our staff was able to be a part of that. We look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice and clean rooms. Close to public transportation. Free WiFi worked well. Only issue is street noise. They are across the street from a fire station. We stayed on the top floor on the opposite side of the building. Not loud enough to wake me up but loud enough to make it hard to fall asleep.

Room Tip: Recommend high floor on opposite side from fire engine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorChippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! One of the missions of our hotel is to be the cleanest and friendliest, so I am thrilled to see that these were two of your highlights from your stay. Thanks again for the excellent review and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORONTO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent Service Hotel. From management and down. Amazing fantastic stay.
Used my Marriott points to redeem a one night stay here. Received a direct email from Matthew Front Desk Manager before and after my stay for any special requests or anything. I am very impressed with this level of service. We went on the weekend of Taste of Chicago and the hotel was fully booked. Although full booked and busy they were the front desk and everyone managed very well. I was impressed with the hotels automatic revolving door, the higher tiers of Marriott hotel doesn't have this in the area. The lobby was nice and warm very inviting. There was less than a 5 minute wait for check ins and was very accommodating. The security feature with using the hotel key card is very safe. It may be informative to let your guests know about this feature as I saw quite a few walking around the elevators not knowing that you had to tap keycard first and then push your floor number. We stayed in room 1045 as requested higher floor away from elevators and quiet room. It was very nice and the room included a fridge and very impressive bathroom layout. The glass door stand up shower was 4 class hotel like. Spacious counter space and mega size mirror very spacious bathroom. This room had no view of the city although we hardly were in the room to begin with but excellent sleep very quiet room at night. The elevators were very fast for the fully booked hotel. Breakfast was pretty good. The waffle line up was not fun I saw the line up for it and passed away as people were targeting that area first.
All in all excellent stay at the Fairfield Inn I was overly impressed with the level of customer service and attitude of employees working here. The room is not too small but very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again if I had to stay in Downtown Chicago. Thank-you Matt for the emails it is your service and training for the team members that make this hotel the best of service. Please keep it up I look forward till my next visit.

Room Tip: Room 1045 King size bedroom. New and nice quiet room. Request for higher floors not facing Illinois...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very Environmental friendly and this is enforced throughout the hotel. Very nice!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerJToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
What a wonderfully thoughtful and detailed review of your stay with us, thank you! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan on returning in the future. The emails you described are just my way of opening that door to make sure each guest has the opportunity to provide us much appreciated feedback and to assist us in honoring any requests that we can. Thank you again for the kind review and I look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,729 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,307 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 189 in Chicago
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 60 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North is a newer LEED-Certified Marriott hotel in downtown Chicago. Located in the trendy River North neighborhood just north of the Loop, this unique hotel offers full-service amenities at the Fairfield value. Enjoy free breakfast, property-wide WiFi, modern furnishings and high-tech amenities. Surrounded by the city's best restaurants and nightlife, our Chicago River North hotel is also within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile shopping, Millennium Park and Lake Michigan. Self and Valet parking is available (fee) and along with nearby convenient CTA and Union Station trains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing