We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, would recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #16 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, would recommend!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I loved the location and the hotel was very clean and inviting, room was comfortable and clean. There are many great restaurants and bars within a few block walk and lots of locals wandering the streets after work and in the evening. Great vibe. Staff was great, so friendly, helpful. My only complaints were I ended up on a low floor and it was at the back of the building on the alley way by the dumpsters so it was loud. I think if my room had been in a better location, my stay would have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on both TripAdvisor as well as our online satisfaction survey. Glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay, but disappointed that you were not pleased with your room location. Arriving on a Tuesday late in the evening can be difficult to accommodate special requests as 90% of our guests arrive on a Monday for the entire week, which means most if not all of our rooms on our upper floors are already occupied and have been since the previous day. I do hope that next time we will be able to get you into one of those upper floors so that you can really enjoy your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to do so sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    194
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
241
159
27
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights and even though we were unlucky and due to overbooking our room was not waiting for us - we will remember this hotel as a very good one! Especially the Staff - really helpful and service minded - they made our stay so pleasant. Great location , close to any place and plenty of restaurants around! Also it is only about 20 minutes walk to the famous Magnificent Mile. The only poor thing there is the breakfast - poor quality food , not bog choice and also opened only till 09:30 while the staff starts cleaning the tables at 09:15. Anyhow it was unforgettable stay :-). Thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rygle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the excellent rating! Again I apologize that we were not able to accommodate you and your family the first evening due to causes out of our direct control, however I am very happy that we were able to find a room for you right next door and that you were able to return first thing in the morning. We are constantly seeking ways to improve our breakfast, however most of what we offer is in accordance with our brand standards and since we do not have a full kitchen, it can be very limiting considering we must feed an all you can eat buffet for hundreds of guests each day. Thanks again for the feedback, it was a pleasure meeting you and your family, and we look forward to being able to accommodate you all again sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

In all my travels I have NEVER stayed at a hotel with a more friendly and helpful staff! The front desk crew were amazing! Matthew Noonan, the front desk manager, made sure I had everything I needed to make my trip a great one! I was highly impressed with this hotel and will definitely stay here again and again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandeducator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to add to our TripAdvisor page! It is guests like you that help us receive awards like the Certificate of Excellence, so thank you very much. Glad that I was able to be of assistance during your stay, feel free to reach out should you need any assistance in the future, and we look forward to seeing you back here again and again!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Went to Chicago this past weekend for the wife's birthday and stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River/North. It was what I've come to expect from the Marriott organization as far as comfort and cleanliness. But the staff at this hotel from the valet and housekeepers to the front desk manager and concierge were outstanding. Everyone there made us feel at home especially Robert, the concierge, who went out of his way to make our stay more pleasant. Next time I'm in Chicago I will be staying at this Fairfield.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnovak5282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the awesome review! I will surely pass this along to Robert and celebrate his efforts with our team and let our entire team know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. Feel free to reach out when you need to make those future arrangements and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had the pleasure of taking my mother on her very 1st visit to Chicago. I chose this hotel basically for the rate (Sr. Citizen) but it exceeded all of my expectations. OMG, where do I start!!!!

1. 1st Matthew Noonan (Mgr) emailed me personally inquiring about any special needs my mother or myself might have. Talk about customer service!! He answered all questions and fulfilled all of my requests. Matthew, thanks so much for the extra special touch.

2. ROCKSTAR DANIELLE at the front desk served as my very own personal tour guide!! She was knowledgeable, patient, and did it all with a smile. Anything I needed to know about the hotel or maneuvering about Chicago she answered!!! Thanks Danielle<<-- Clone her

As far as the hotel is concerned it's modern, chic, and updated. We occupied the 2 bed suite on the 14th floor with a great view, and the coup de' grace FREE WI-FI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Breakfast was free and plentiful downstairs, and the hotel is a convenient walk to the Oriental Theater, The Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier or a quick cab ride whatever your preference.

My only CON---- Parking!!! It's a little pricey (however, this is downtown Chicago) and it's a walk from the hotel. Please be mindful of this if you have elderly parents or if you are alone. If that's the case I recommend the valet.

Room Tip: Top floor Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind review! We are fortunate to have a dedicated team here really focused on making sure our guests are completely satisfied and Danielle is no exception. I will be sure to share this with her and our team! Feel free to reach out should you need any assistance in the future and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location and a new hotel with stellar service., Street side a little bit noisy. Parking adjunct to hotel. Rooms were clean and tidy. Convenient to lots of restaurants. Difficult to obtain reservations on summer weekends so book in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the excellent review and kind comment on the service here at the Fairfield. Our mission here is to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel on the block and it looks like we succeeded in doing so. I also appreciate the heads up to the TripAdvisor community about booking in advance - the word is spreading and our hotel is extremely busy, so yes please book in advance!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long grove, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Finding a room that could hold 5 adult women was tough, but we lucked out at this location. it's perfect! Clean and welcoming. Bathtub had a little trouble draining but seriously...No complaints. Amazing restaurants everywhere around you in this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Glad we were able to accommodate you ladies! It was a pleasure to meet you all, glad that you had a good time, and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#13 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 60 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North is a newer LEED-Certified Marriott hotel in downtown Chicago. Located in the trendy River North neighborhood just north of the Loop, this unique hotel offers full-service amenities at the Fairfield value. Enjoy free breakfast, property-wide WiFi, modern furnishings and high-tech amenities. Surrounded by the city's best restaurants and nightlife, our Chicago River North hotel is also within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile shopping, Millennium Park and Lake Michigan. Self and Valet parking is available (fee) and along with nearby convenient CTA and Union Station trains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing