We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #16 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location in Chicago”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Great area for shopping, downtown sights and restaurants. Rooms were always clean and quiet for good night sleep after being out all day. Every front desk person we met was helpful and guided us in the right direction each time for what interest we specifically were looking to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for the perfect review! I am very happy to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and our staff to be helpful - 2 things that we certainly pride ourselves here on and we appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with others. Hope to see you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    193
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
237
159
27
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Matthew Noonan was a great manager! He was very accomodating and helpful (all of the staff were helpful). We had to checkout early and did not encounter any problems (we had a sick kid).

Breakfast was awesome and the fitness center was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the firehouse. We stayed on the 12th floor so we were not disturbed by the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the kind words! We very much appreciate you choosing our hotel again and we look forward to having you stay with us again when you need to visit Chicago next. Hope that is sooner rather than later!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N/A
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a great property within walking distance of most down town attractions. The rooms are comfortable and mostly quiet with an awesome air conditioning system. The breakfast room is bright and well stocked with many choices.
Robert was very helpful with advice about which attraction to visit for our one day stay. He recommended Absolutely Chicago Segway tours. We had a great time! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iIwhite14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for the excellent review, I will certainly make sure Robert sees this and celebrate his efforts with our team. Hopefully you are able to make it back to Chicago sometime soon and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

have stayed at every Marriott level in downtown Chicago (Courtyard, Renaissance, Residence Inn) . Enjoyed this one the best. Small enough hotel that the front desk new who you were coming and going. Came with teens and had no qualms letting them go get breakfast themselves. Rooms were spotless & hotel hallways were quiet. Ok, if you hate city noise - probably should book a different hotel or one that you can stay on a higher floor. We were on Floor12 across from Fire Station - didn't bother us a bit but it most bother some - since hotel leaves you earplugs on the night stand.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cityplaner1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am so pleased that we were able to stand out amongst the other Marriott hotels that you have visited here in Chicago - we know that you have many options and I am thrilled that you were pleased with your choice. Hope to see you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have not even been to Chicago yet and was very undecided on where to stay. After calling around to every hotel (it seems like), I got in touch with Matt. He immediately took any doubt I had about the trip away. I knew immediately this was the hotel for me to take my elderly in laws along with my daughter to celebrate her 12th birthday. He even took the time to give me names and numbers of some places for reservations. I have no doubt that our stay will far exceed my expectations. I cannot wait to send a follow up review! Looking forward to visiting!

Jennifer

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
You are far too kind! I am thrilled that I was able to ease your mind about your travels - that's what a hotel experience should be all about anyway - relaxing, worry-free, and fun! Safe travels and we will see you soon enough.

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a really nice hotel with nice hotel staff. We stayed on the 15th floor with a nice room next to the elevator. This was the weekend of the air and water show. The room was excellent as Fairfield is one of the better hotels in Marriott with free wife and breakfast. The wifi is spotty as previous reviews had mentioned, but good enough for me to use rather than pay the $4.95 per day to upgrade to stream movies or shows. The breakfast was really good with plenty of food and drinks. There were scrambled eggs, link sausages, waffles, fruits, muffins, breads, juice and coffee. The breakfast room was on the second floor looking over W. Illinois St. Surprisingly, our room could not hear any of the sirens and they gave one complementary ear plugs next on the night stand. The room also had a refrigerator and microwave oven. We checked out on Saturday morning and left our bags with the porter and picked it up around 6:00 pm. We departed for a night stay near O'Hare for an early morning flight. The hotel is only a block and a half away from the Red Line Grand station. Also, the bus stop is right outside the hotel to gho to the Navy Pier. Overall, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are coming on the blue train from O'Hare with bags, take the blue train to Jackson and tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRY4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for the kind recap of your stay with us! Glad that you were able to enjoy yourselves over the weekend with the Air & Water show - definitely a highlight of summer in the city. I will certainly pass your compliments on to our breakfast crew and celebrate a job well done. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My 11 year old son and I visited Chicago for five nights, three at the Renaissance and two at the Fairfield Inn and suites. As far as the actual property, the Fairfield Inn and suites was every bit as nice as the more expensive, higher-rated Renaissance. This is saying a lot, as we loved the Renaissance.

All of the rooms are new!! The hotel provides a free continental breakfast, in-room coffee maker, free Wi-Fi, laundry facilities, and a nice size gym. These amenities ensure that the property accommodates both business travelers and families alike.

The front desk staff was extremely helpful, whether we were selecting kid-friendly restaurants, asking about ongoing festivals, or inquiring about local transportation options....they went out of their way to address our every need!

My final comment has to do with location. The hotel is just a few blocks from Michigan Avenue and the Chicago River, right in the heart of the trendy River North restaurant scene. You are literally 5-10 minutes from the loop, great shopping, and both a red line subway and brown line L station. Unless you are traveling to the distant suburbs, there is no reason for a car.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, or strongly recommend it to others. Take advantage of this brand-new property, with all the amenities of a much higher priced hotel, in an incredibly convenient location!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bherrmann72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for the excellent review, glad that we were able to impress you and compare up to the full-service Renaissance! We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for your high recommendation and we certainly look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

Regards,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#23 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 60 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North is a newer LEED-Certified Marriott hotel in downtown Chicago. Located in the trendy River North neighborhood just north of the Loop, this unique hotel offers full-service amenities at the Fairfield value. Enjoy free breakfast, property-wide WiFi, modern furnishings and high-tech amenities. Surrounded by the city's best restaurants and nightlife, our Chicago River North hotel is also within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile shopping, Millennium Park and Lake Michigan. Self and Valet parking is available (fee) and along with nearby convenient CTA and Union Station trains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing