We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals of the year”

Bavette's Bar and Boeuf
Reserve with OpenTable
Bavette's Bar and Boeuf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 9,675 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wells/Franklin
Description: A stylish departure from a traditional steakhouse, Bavette's embraces French flair without the formality, blending fine dining with unabashed fun. Guests can indulge in seafood towers, richly flavorful ribeyes, classic side dishes and house made desserts, as well as classic cocktails and a well-curated international wine list.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of the year”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was one of the best food experiences I've had in a while. Everything about this place is 5 stars - food, service and ambiance. The upstairs is reminiscent of an early 20th century French bistro, complete with rich, dark wood and mood lighting. Downstairs is like a parlor or old mansion library, without the books. Deep booths and romantic 2-tops.
Our server, Michael (or perhaps Michele since he's from a French area of Africa) was very helpful and knowledgeable. He was also very personable.
The food was so good. I don't think you could go wrong. We had the fois grois, wedge salad, oysters and two steaks. My steak was unfortunately medium though I ordered it medium rare plus. Other than that, everything was exceptional. The chocolate cream pie is the best I've ever had. It's like soft fudge in a delicious crust. I'd go just for the pie and a glass of wine!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosenfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    909
    209
    61
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classic done Right”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This place was quite a walk for me to find BUT was well worth the excursion. The restaurant has the feel of a club~bar~simple, elegant and cozy. I am a chef and would love to have a restaurtant this nicley thought out.
The menu is perfection...evenly balanced, not too "hip or slangish" just a nice blend of classic food, steaks and some seafood in proper French preparation.
I sat at the bar...the bar keeps were friendly and knowledgable.
The Fioe Gras Terrine was simple, elegant and perfectly served with thick crusted bread and a berry compote.
The steak..OMG. I opted for a less rich Chicago Rib Eye (dry aged was also on the menu but after the pate I didn't need anymore decadence). The steak was perfect.
They have (i believe) an old school Hi-Low Drawer Broiler that is the best for steaks since it sears at high temp and cooks without imparting too much smoke (everyone has switched to the char-broilers that adds smoke...not great for steaks since it fights with the real beef flavor).
(Bernaise..lacked tarragon reduction so not perfect..)
The perfect steak meal that I am dreaming about three days later!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidthebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Best wedge salad ever! That's just to start. The food and drinks are amazing. I loved the upstairs bar and the downstairs bar. You can't go wrong!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Outstanding from top to toe - best steak in a decade! Heaven on a plate.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

WOW. Briliant. This bustly restaurant is my new total favourite and I can't want to go back! We were downstairs where the atmosphere is even more cozy and convivial, in old Chicago speak-easy style with great booths, good music, great service. We split an excellent avocado with crab salad with soft frilly lettuce and it was tasty and more than adequate size wise as advised by the attentive and knowledgeable staff.. The star for me was the ribeye steak with peppery crust, outstanding creamed spinach and mash - heaven. The Domaine Brusset Rhone red more than hit the spot at $68. The strogonoff with tagliatelle was also excellent, but if you're a carnivore this is the place for you. Have already booked to go back in December.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice change”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Great experience from the hostess who greeted us to the waiter. There was 5 of us and we all had great meal. We tried Fried chicken, lamb shank, short ribs and salmon tartare appetizer. And the room was very comfortable. So if you want a change from light bright places go here.

Helpful?
Thank mooshka19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavette's Bar and Boeuf also viewed

 

Been to Bavette's Bar and Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing