We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Area Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Guesthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Chicago Area Gem!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We rented a three bedroom, two bath unit for four nights and could not be happier! We have rented condos all over the world through various means. Andersonville Guesthouse was fantastic! From the first contact through checkout everything was professional and easy. Lovely finishes, good location, and very, very clean. The huge steam shower in the master was a huge hit with my husband and our adult children. My husband is in a wheelchair and it was wonderful access from the front door all through the condo... not an easy thing to find in a vacation rental! The Andersonville area is cute and full of restaurants and shops, and a grocery store is a few blocks away. The Guesthouse will be our home away from home anytime we visit our daughter in Chicago!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We’re delighted you discovered Andersonville Guesthouse and enjoyed your stay while visiting your daughter. Please know that we offer our returning guests a 10% discount off our standard rates.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
163
36
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We just stayed at Andersonville Guesthouse for four nights and had a wonderful experience. The apartment was beautiful and well maintained. The apartment was spacious and had a fully stocked kitchen. The garage was perfect. It was great not to have to search for street parking. This was a great home away from home. This was an ideal place to stay if you want to be on the north side where there are few nice hotels and where parking can be a challenge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We’re so glad you discovered us and enjoyed your time here. Parking certainly can be a challenge in Chicago! We are fortunate to have the ability to offer complimentary garage parking to our guests.

Please keep in mind we offer our returning guests a 10% discount off our standard rates. We hope to see you another time soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I rented out the 2 bedroom suite Mar 28th-Apr 1st for my 30th birthday and my experience was amazing. The place was more then I expected. I had everything I could possibly think of to be able to cook clean and entertain my guest. My guest had no trouble finding parking (since it was the weekend they didn't have to pay the meter which was a added bonus for them). The check-in and Check-out process was very well explained in the email I actually enjoyed learning all the codes and going in and out without having to take keys with me (because of the lock box outside my room). I will never forget my birthday and my stay at Andersonville Guesthouse and how easy and nice the experience was definitely plan on going back one day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trust_inhimonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona K, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to have made your birthday celebration so memorable and exceeded your expectations! We always enjoy playing a role in such special occasions. Please know that we offer our returning guests a 10% discount off our standard rates. We hope to see you back for your next birthday if not sooner!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

As long we you don't mind being Andersonville, this is the place you should stay at. High sealings, garage spot, fully stocked kitchens are just a few of the reasons you should stay there. You would be silly to not consider staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona K, Owner at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Jeff,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Andersonville Guesthouse! Thank you very much for writing a review. Please know that we offer a 10% discount off our standard rates for all of our return guests.

We hope to see you and your family again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Simona Krug
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

There is nothing like Andersonville Guest House anywhere in Chicago. I recently had my family stay here for my wedding. It was so nice to have both sides of the family in the same location. They appreciated having such a large place to stay, saving money by cooking 'at home' and not eating out every meal, and they were able to experience our lovely neighborhood, with a parking spot. The guest house is far more economical than a hotel downtown (which will charge you at least $30 a night for parking) and it is definitely nicer! I could not recommend the Andersonville Guest House more highly. My family can't wait to come back and visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichole54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona K, Owner at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Nichole,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are so pleased that your family enjoyed their stay with us. We were delighted to have them here for your special day and would love to accommodate them in the future. Please know that we provide a 10% discount off our standard rates to all of our return guests.

Again, thank you and congratulations on getting married!

Kind regards,
Simona Krug
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed here with my sister and my niece for a week in January. We have stayed in variouse vacation rentals in Chicago and I have to say THIS IS THE BEST!!! The units were niceley decorated, the kitchen had everything you needed to actually cook, the cable had everything you need to keep entertained, parking was on site, closets were huge, and the best part was the staff. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauradeestrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseA, Owner at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for your review! We were delighted to have you and your family stay with us. We certainly hope that you will return in the future.

Kind regards,
Simona Krug
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

If you like the extra amenties offered by upscale hotels such as doorman, concierage, front desk clerk, bellhops, daily housekeeping and room service then the Andersonville Guesthouse is not for you.

However if you like to have enough room for multiple members of your travel group along with full kitchen facilities with living quarters, the experience of living in a neighborhood where you can walk to restuarants and shopping, have easy access to public transportation as well as indoor parking, then you won't find anyplace more accommodating than The Andersonville Guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank fillcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona K, Owner at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Andersonville Guesthouse.

Please know that we are expanding next year into a full, boutique hotel. We are adding 15 additional units (both 1 and 2 bedroom) and will have a lobby with a concierge, reception area, business center, lounge, and work out room. We will provide the same style of accommodation, but with more hotel amenities and comforts.

Again, thank you very much for staying with us. We sincerely hope to have you back in the future. If you do book again, we will give you a 10% discount!

Kind regards,
Simona Krug
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,445 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,720 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Hotel

Property: The Guesthouse Hotel
Address: 4872 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60640-4711 (Formerly Andersonville Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guesthouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to live like a local while staying in Chicago? The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago offers an affordable and comfortable place to lay your head during your visit to our city! A family-owned, boutique hotel, The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago is a unique Chicago boutique hotel combining the best features of a vacation rental property with the personal attention of a boutique hotel.Our units feature one, two and three bedroom suites and all include gourmet kitchens, spa-like bathrooms and sofa beds. You can whip up a meal in the fully-equipped gourmet kitchen (we're happy to point you towards a local Farmers Market or grocery store) or, when the weather calls for it, use the grill on your private terrace. Other highlights include an inviting living and dining area; spacious and elegantly decorated bedrooms; a spa-like master bathroom ; a fireplace; a plasma television with cable; free Wifi; onsite parking (fee); in addition to an array of other amenities and comforts.The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago has an excellent location in the vibrant Andersonville neighborhood, one of Chicago's most beloved neighborhoods. We're also nestled close to Lincoln Square, another neighborhood that brings the small-town vibe to the big city. The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago is just a short hop away from Wrigley Field, as well as public transportation (bus and train), which allows convenient access to downtown Chicago and tourist attractions (Feel free to ask us for dining, shopping, and tourist recommendations!) The affordable luxury of The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago and our unique location provide the perfect rental accommodation for travelers who want the comforts and independence of their own home while enjoying all that Chicago and its local culture has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Guesthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing