We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel, vacation rentals merge for an outstanding experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Guesthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, TN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel, vacation rentals merge for an outstanding experience”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Guesthouse Hotel in the historic Andersonville neighborhood of Chicago provided us with a unique blend of vacation rental and boutique hotel, the first time we'd encountered such a delightful combination. Owners David and Simona Krug, who we met early on, began with 10 units, originally designed as luxury condominiums at 4866 N. Clark, and they just finished an addition that ups the total to 25.

Accommodations range from 1- to 3-bedroom condo-like units, complete with full kitchens, living rooms and small balconies that are equipped with gas barbecue grills. Ours was a 1-bedroom unit that had plenty of room. Our bathroom had a great walk-in shower. The units feature modern furniture and could keep a couple or a family comfortable for several days while an in-depth exploration of the eclectic neighborhood and the rest of the city is conducted.

The addition at 4872 N. Clark, which just opened this month, also has a roomy lobby area and a smaller meeting room for business get-togethers. They don’t offer food services, but will be partnering with a local restaurant to provide a room service delivery menu, they told me. And trust me, there are plenty of terrific eating places nearby. General manager Rick Verkler’s staff is friendly and efficient, always ready take care of things that crop up and making sure the customer’s needs come first.

The neighborhood is fun to explore – we didn’t encounter anything close to a bad meal -- and Wrigley Field is less than 2 miles away, straight down Clark. The Guesthouse Hotel is located outside the loop, just far enough where you don’t feel hemmed in by the big city, but close enough to get wherever you want to go by cab, bus or The El. It’s conveniently located just a few blocks from Lakeshore Drive. For us, it was a perfect location.

Our experience there was top-drawer all the way. The days were busy and it was great to come back to a home-like atmosphere just to relax and prepare for the next day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glrob54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick_Verkler, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed review. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here. We're fortunate to be located in such a wonderful area of Chicago and it's evident from your review, you were able to explore a lot while here! Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago very soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
161
36
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had the pleasure of being one of the first guests in the new addition to The Guesthouse this weekend, and it surpassed all expectations! The lobby was stunning, modern, and welcoming, and our 2 bedroom suite was just as amazing. The suite makes you feel just as comfortable as being at home, which most hotels cannot provide. It was very private, and the onsite parking was convenient and made getting around easy. The suite was beautifully decorated, and included a full kitchen, patio, and grill. It was spotless. The staff was friendly, and Rick, the manager, went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed.

The Guesthouse thinks of everything to start your trip, and provides suggestions for local shops and restaurants where you can find anything else you may need. The location is very convenient to downtown, and has many local restaurants to enjoy as well. I can't recommend The Guesthouse enough! We had a truly unique and excellent experience! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick_Verkler, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Emma,

Thank you very much for your lovely review! I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and had the opportunity to stay in one of our brand new suites. After nearly a year of construction and hard work, I am so pleased that the end result exceeded your expectations and you were made to feel at home. Thank you again for taking time to share your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Guesthouse Hotel very soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a really nice 2 bedroom suite with a spacious living room and a well-equipped kitchen. And a grill outside (for when the notorious Chicago weather allows it)! Friendly and helpful staff. The place was spotlessly clean. Perfect location -- Andersonville has many nice restaurants in walking distance, and two grocery stores, too. One of the grocery stores has a piano bar! Reasonable walk to CTA train. Great place for a family visit to the big city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick_Verkler, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Jim,

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience at The Guesthouse Hotel. I'm glad to hear you were able to take advantage of a favorite Chicago pastime and spend some time grilling out! Thanks for commenting on the cleanliness and I will certainly let my housekeeping team know. We work very hard to ensure our guests have a nice experience and appreciate you mentioning all the details. We hope to see you back at The Guesthouse Hotel soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If you have never stayed in a suite while traveling with family or another group, you are in for a nice surprise at the Guesthouse Hotel. Grabbing some food for breakfasts and picnic lunches at a nearby supermarket lets you easily meet individual dietary requirements and personal food preferences, something that is a challenge in restaurants. And it saves a LOT on dining out, making the Guesthouse Hotel a great value. Our unit was very well-supplied with kitchen utensils and pots and pans – we even made an apple cobbler dessert to go with our grilled steak dinner. We had a ground-floor 2 bedroom suite with patio that is apparently a little smaller than some of the other units, but it was still very roomy, and the kitchen was as big as our kitchen at home. The Guesthouse is decorated in an elegant, minimalist style that makes it a stress-free refuge from the wonders of Chicago. I love getting a birds-eye view of the Northside neighborhoods from the Red Line EL train to the Loop. I would definitely return to the Guesthouse Hotel, and I recommend it whole-heartedly to all.

Room Tip: Patio suite is just as good as balcony suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseA, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review! I'm glad to see you were able to take advantage of the kitchen to prepare some home-cooked meals. As lucky as we are to be in location with great places to eat, it's hard to beat a grilled steak dinner with home made apple cobbler! I look forward to having you with us again very soon.

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Thank you Rick and staff for an amazing experience for my business team. From booking, to arrival and then departure, we were well taken care of by the team at the Guesthouse. We appreciated all of the extra steps you took to make it easy for us to conduct business but also have a relaxing stay. The accommodations were not only beautiful, but also comfortable. We loved having the amenities of home (washer, dryer, full kitchen, and fireplace) as well of the convenience of city living. This is a gem for not only the Uptown neighborhood, but for Chicago as well. Hands down, the Guesthouse is our preferred Chicago hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyJMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseA, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you so much for the kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your business colleagues for your meeting and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm happy you were able to take advantage of all the amenities, including having a fire during our chilly Chicago spring! I look forward to welcoming you and your team back to The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We made a trip to Chicago for a graduation ceremony so we were on a tight schedule. The Guesthouse was home-away-from-home. We had a 3 bedroom apartment and every room was spacious and well furnished. From the complimentary laundry soap to the directory of local restaurants, the attention to detail was appreciated. We took advantage of the living room area and gathered to watch NBA playoff games and later viewed a wedding video. The surrounding neighborhood was filled with restaurants and unique shops. Public transportation was also a short walk away. Our thanks to the staff who assisted us with the reservation process and was courteous when we arrived for check in. We have already recommended the Guesthouse to family and friends. Overall, it was reassuting Our only complaint... that we didn't have more time to stay there!

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick_Verkler, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Janet,

Thank you very much for your review and especially for telling your friends and family about your experience! We work very hard on the details to ensure our guests have everything they need for a wonderful stay and greatly appreciate you pointing this out. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your time here and explored our wonderful neighborhood. Thank you for making us your home while in Chicago and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very spacious accommodations in a fantastic, walkable neighborhood. The Guesthouse Hotel in Andersonville has massive, condo-like apartments which are perfectly appointed for a comfortable, extended stay. The staff is extremely helpful with lots of good tips on how to really live like a local in the fun neighborhood. The steam sauna function in the shower is amazing!!

Room Tip: All guestquarters are very spacious. Next time I will definitely stay longer and enjoy more R&R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Albert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick_Verkler, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Albert,

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review! I'm glad you found our staff helpful and you enjoyed some of the hidden treasures of our neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can experience one of our new units opening this summer!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#4 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Hotel

Property: The Guesthouse Hotel
Address: 4872 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60640-4711 (Formerly Andersonville Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guesthouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to live like a local while staying in Chicago? The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago offers an affordable and comfortable place to lay your head during your visit to our city! A family-owned, boutique hotel, The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago is a unique Chicago boutique hotel combining the best features of a vacation rental property with the personal attention of a boutique hotel.Our units feature one, two and three bedroom suites and all include gourmet kitchens, spa-like bathrooms and sofa beds. You can whip up a meal in the fully-equipped gourmet kitchen (we're happy to point you towards a local Farmers Market or grocery store) or, when the weather calls for it, use the grill on your private terrace. Other highlights include an inviting living and dining area; spacious and elegantly decorated bedrooms; a spa-like master bathroom ; a fireplace; a plasma television with cable; free Wifi; onsite parking (fee); in addition to an array of other amenities and comforts.The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago has an excellent location in the vibrant Andersonville neighborhood, one of Chicago's most beloved neighborhoods. We're also nestled close to Lincoln Square, another neighborhood that brings the small-town vibe to the big city. The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago is just a short hop away from Wrigley Field, as well as public transportation (bus and train), which allows convenient access to downtown Chicago and tourist attractions (Feel free to ask us for dining, shopping, and tourist recommendations!) The affordable luxury of The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago and our unique location provide the perfect rental accommodation for travelers who want the comforts and independence of their own home while enjoying all that Chicago and its local culture has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Guesthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing