We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome Inn Manor - City Life and Culture All In One” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome Inn Manor - City Life and Culture All In One”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

After a recent visit to Welcome Inn Manor, I cannot wait to go back! Mell and Angie were warm and helpful.....the care and attention that they have put into maintaining this historic home is simply amazing....from the original fire places to the art work which really tells the history of Chicago. Were it not for the close proximity to the city of Chicago I could have stayed inside of the Welcome Inn for my entire stay. Truly a delight!

Room Tip: Talk to Mell and Angie and get their input based on your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    19
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
78
14
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary here, and had fun for an extended weekend around the downtown Chicago area.
The Welcome Inn Manor is located close to so many interesting things, aside from easy transportation via train or car.
Mell's cooking was fabulous, both Angie and Mell were VERY accommodating and friendly, and had some great advice on places to check out, many of which were interesting and also budget-riendly. (We had NO idea Chicago was such a BYOB restaurant establishment!). Even their dog Sinbad was very friendly, well behaved, and good natured.
Our stay was in the Lady D Suite, which was clean, comfortable, quiet, and cozy. I was going to say that the room was beautiful - which it is - but really this applies to the entire house. From the moment you walk in (front or back, it didn't seem to matter) you were greeted with an overall feeling of a warm, welcoming place, with amazing history and architecture that has been painstakingly preserved.
Great job, Mell and Angie! Thank you again! We will definitely be staying again soon!
Joe and Kaylee.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Welcome Inn while we were in town for a business conference. The conference was at McCormick Place which was a quick 5 minute drive with no traffic each morning which was great. Mell and Angie made us feel at home. The room we were in (Nat King Cole suite) was great and spacious. Bathroom had an awesome whirlpool tub and shower. We were sad it was the middle of summer and we couldn't take advantage of the two fireplaces. Mell's breakfasts were great and he gave us some great tips for dinner each night. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Fabulous stay in this historic home turned bed-and-breakfast. Mell and Angie were gracious hosts who accommodated our late arrival and quirky schedule. We stayed at the Welcome Inn Manor because of a family event, but it would be great for business travelers too.

The room was wonderful and the breakfast worth lingering over. Mell also had some great recommendations for local restaurants. I used to live in Chicago, but he introduced me to some new places, giving me a deeper appreciation for my “second home”.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Love the place and the people who own it. As someone who has stayed in many bed and breakfasts over decades, have to say that this was the best experience. Wonderful stay from start to finish. The Inn is even more beautiful than the web photos. Historic building with carved wood grand staircase, high ceilings, restored with respect and love. Filled with photos showing the Bronzeville and African American place in American history and culture. Fabulous large scale art pieces surround you as you relax in the comfortable furniture, with soft Jazz in the background. The hosts, Mell and Angie were warm and welcoming, solicitous about every small detail. They even graciously included me in their evening out at a Jazz concert at nearby University of Chicago. I stayed in the Nat King Cole room, which is filled with his image and music. Two spacious rooms, an enormous and comfortable bed, ample closets and cabinets, and a fantastic jacuzzi with a peaceful window view. The rooms included everything I needed for a great stay and the fridge chilled my wine and leftovers. The hosts made clear the entire house was part of the experience. And it was. Outdoor deck, garden and patio, Coffee and drinks freely available. Just a relaxed, warm feeling throughout. Mell was always at the ready to assist, driving me to Conference Center, suggesting restaurants and clubs. Friends also attending the American Library Conference were extremely envious, their sterile hotel rooms paled compared to this, and the location was convenient with bus, subway and Mell bringing me the short distance to meetings If you want a great place to stay, intelligent and informed conversation, and a chance to explore a growing, changing, beautiful neighborhood in Chicago, choose the Welcome Inn. I can assure you that you will be glad that you did!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank designing_librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This was the first B&B my wife and I have ever stayed at but certainly won't be the last. The problem from now on will be other places living up to Mel, Angie, their wonderful home, and delicious breakfast. Let me first start by saying there is no better way to experience Chicago but from lifetime residents themselves. When you walk in the first thing you notice is the beautiful woodwork and decorations throughout the home. Our room was the Nat King Cole and for what you pay per night you are not going to find better accommodations in all of Chicago.There are two separate rooms within the suite. The first area has a king size bed, dressers, and tv. The second area has the bathroom,walk in shower, jacuzzi tub, sitting area, double pedestal sink, and refrigerator. Both of the areas are very large and almost feel like you have half the home to yourself. The king bed was very comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was a nice touch after long days walking around Chicago. The pride and joy of this home is it's owner Mel. Mel is full of knowledge about Chicago whether you are trying to find something to eat, wanting to know history of the area, or going out to see attractions. Also if you love jazz then he is the man for you. Then you get to his breakfast freshly prepared every morning. Don't let him tell you he doesn't know how to cook because each breakfast was delicious and vastly different. We enjoyed every minute of our stay with Mel and Angie in their home the Welcome Inn Manor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

The name says it all...from the first moment we walked up to the Manor, we were made to feel welcome and like family. We were met by numerous friendly faces which helped comfort come easily. The hospitality exceeded every expectation or experience we've ever had. The residence was as beautiful on the outside as it was on the inside. I highly recommend booking the Nat King Cole suite. It is an immaculate treasure that quickly became our new favorite home away from home. You will love being at the Welcome Inn Manor, no hotel experience can give you the feel of this bed and breakfast. I'm already looking at future dates so that we can come back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firediva_1194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#2 of 22 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Northwest Side
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4563 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60653-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE HOT BREAKFAST & FREE PARKING & FREE TRANSPORTATION DROP OFF SERVICE AFTER BREAKFAST TO ANY ONE OF OVER 100 CHICAGO SITES! The inn's true ambiance appeals to the aesthetic tastes and expectations of travelers looking for a unique experience and personal-touch accommodations. The common areas include a living room, dining room, family room, eat in kitchen and an outdoor deck for guests to enjoy. Each 2nd floor bedroom suite has a private bath with an outstanding just like home decor. During the Spring and Summer Season, the 3rd floor, 3 bedroom suites have a shared bath. Groups and families often book the entire home so they can be together and be spoiled under one roof. The entire inn is organically created to be a warm, cozy and inviting experience while each room has its own theme and history. This B&B is filled with great style, fun music, tasteful art, cultural exchange, great food and lively conversation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing