We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, warm, personal, luxurious.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful, warm, personal, luxurious.”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I travelled to Chicago to visit University of Chicago with my son. Mel was very patient as my husband made all the arrangements with him on the fly. He took all of my allergies into account for food. One night I was the only guest and there was no problem settling into the parlour to watch tv with them. The room was large and i had a nicely sized and well appointed bathroom to myself.

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    19
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
83
14
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in the Nat King Cole Suite for our honeymoon in September. As this was our first B&B experience, we didn't really know what to expect. But when I called Mell before booking and asked some general questions, I just had a gut feeling that this was the place to stay. I can't begin to say how much we enjoyed our trip because of our stay at Welcome Inn Manor. The bedroom was beautiful and incredibly spacious, and the adjoining bath with Jacuzzi tub, fireplace, and large shower with dual shower heads was even more luxurious than the pictures show. Mell and Angie were the perfect hosts, making us feel as though we had all known each other for years. They shuttled us to whatever downtown location we asked each morning, and every place we went based upon their recommendation was well worth our time. Mell cooked a delicious breakfast each morning, and the dining room and common areas downstairs were so inviting that it felt like home (only more relaxing thanks to Mell and Angie's taste in decorating and perfectly kept atmosphere). We will definitely be back and would recommend Welcome Inn Manor without hesitation! Thanks for making our honeymoon so special and memorable!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Located a short walk from the el which takes you downtown in ten minutes this B&B is in a great location. Easy access to Chicago attractions with having to pay downtown hotel rates. We felt like we were family. Mell and Angie invited us to go out with them in the evenings to places tourists at a hotel would not even know about. My only complaint is that Mell's breakfasts were too big. I hated to leave all that good food on the table.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magellanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We called the B&B and the proprietor spoke us and booked a room for ourselves and one for our son & his wife for 5 nights. That was the beginning of a very special experience. Mell picked us up at the airport and gave us a verbal orientation for our visit to Chicago as he drove us to his home that he and his wife Angie run as a B&B. We could not have felt more welcome. The house is a short walk from the Green Line L into center city. Everyone we met in the neighborhood seemed to want us to feel welcome and enjoy our stay. Each day we were served a cooked breakfast including the last day when Mell got up to serve us breakfast for an early departure at 6:30 AM. Only because there are no restaurants within walking distance have I rated the location as 4 star, but if you have a car, as we did, that is not a problem. There are plenty of places to eat within easy driving distance, or one could walk to the Green Line L and take a train into center city. I definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Call Mell and he will be sure you have just the right room for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFoodie14AVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Staying at Mell and Angie's beautiful home was a perfect base for us while we explored Chicago during our 5-day visit there. The house interior is gorgeous, including the woodwork, the furniture and the decoration; and the artwork made me feel like I was in a museum. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. And Mell's breakfasts are huge! He provides extras that you seldom get at other B and B's, like shuttle service, and he gave us a fascinating tour of the neighborhood. They couldn't be nicer hosts.
I especially appreciated learning about the Black diaspora in the US in the very area to which the migration occurred; the house is filled with photos and memorabilia about the African-American experience, which I found fascinating, and a sadly lacking piece of most of our school history lessons.

Room Tip: The Lady D room is lovely, but a little dark; rooms on the front are sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a beautifully restored historic home with lovely rooms and gorgeous details like the original woodwork along the main stairway. We were visiting family in Chicago and wanted our own quiet place to stay and Welcome Inn Manor was perfect. Mell and Angie made us feel very welcome and were so friendly, offering tips for fun things to do in Chicago, shuttle service, and even to share a glass of wine with them on the deck in the evening. Mell's hearty breakfasts are delicious - you won't go hungry here! We stayed in the Lady D Suite, which was perfect for a couple. We'll definitely come back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Beautiful house & rooms, tasty food, parking you don't have to pay $60/day for, and Mell and Angie create a real community feeling, engaging you just as much as you want to be engaged. We'll stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosenwald Suite and thought it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,729 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 189 in Chicago
8,729 reviews
Hyde Park
Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#1 of 23 in Chicago
352 reviews
Near North Side
The Sono Chicago
The Sono Chicago
#5 of 23 in Chicago
66 reviews
Chicago South Loop Hotel
#102 of 189 in Chicago
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4563 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60653-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE HOT BREAKFAST & FREE PARKING & FREE TRANSPORTATION DROP OFF SERVICE AFTER BREAKFAST TO ANY ONE OF OVER 100 CHICAGO SITES! The inn's true ambiance appeals to the aesthetic tastes and expectations of travelers looking for a unique experience and personal-touch accommodations. The common areas include a living room, dining room, family room, eat in kitchen and an outdoor deck for guests to enjoy. Each 2nd floor bedroom suite has a private bath with an outstanding just like home decor. During the Spring and Summer Season, the 3rd floor, 3 bedroom suites have a shared bath. Groups and families often book the entire home so they can be together and be spoiled under one roof. The entire inn is organically created to be a warm, cozy and inviting experience while each room has its own theme and history. This B&B is filled with great style, fun music, tasteful art, cultural exchange, great food and lively conversation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing