We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
“Awesome Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Absolutely fabulous house and the most gracious hosts! My bedroom was big and invitingly homey. There is so much incredible artwork and sculpture everywhere in the house, it feels like you are staying in an art gallery. Mel had a ton of suggestions on what I might like to do and where I may like to eat, obviously he knows his city. The Inn is only a few blocks way from rapid transit, which goes directly downtown and its only a short distance by taxi as well. I totally recommend staying at this amazing Inn when you are in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mell_monroe123, Owner at Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    19
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
82
14
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

As sometimes happens after a trip, I miss my hosts, Mel and Angie, and royal treatment at the Welcome Home Inn. Come to Chicago on a different path, get a feel for the real culture and pulse of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mell_monroe123, Owner at Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
That you would choose our business for such an important family occasion is quite pleasing to us. Even more rewarding is the reaction that you indicate that your entire party had regarding your visit with us. Wow...does this make us happy. We believe all guests should both expect and receive a high level of service. Thanks for sharing your memorable experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We only found this gem of a b&b the evening before arrival .. So pleased we made the choice! Mell and Angie have a gorgeous home, and we were thrilled to bits to be made welcome and enjoyed every moment we had in Chicago.. You will miss out big time if you do not make this your place to stay.. So much nicer than a downtown impersonal hotel !!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna, TX
Level Contributor
201 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

From the moment we walked through the door we knew we had made the best possible choice. The historical home has been renovated with style and copious amounts of love. Just when I thought I had drunk everything in, I would see another captivating bit of art or history. The breakfasts were beautiful to the eye and an absolute riot of flavors. The Nat King Cole Suite is just a bit of heaven. Mel, Angie and Sinbad have written the book on hospitality. If you don't stay here while in Chicago, you will be making one of the biggest mistakes of your life.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmccomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mell_monroe123, Owner at Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is the BEST Bed & Breakfast I've ever visited. The service, room and food were outstanding. All rooms are quite, clean and private. Welcome Inn Manor adds a lovely personal touch to all visitors. They are animal and family friendly. I HIGHLY recommend this Bed & Breakfast!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. I really like the Nat King Cole Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank True R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mell_monroe123, Owner at Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your kind words about Welcome Inn Manor Bed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights here while attending AIA Convention. Must confess to being a little nervous when we first saw the neighborhood, but once we met Mell and saw our suite, we knew we were in a good place. The Inn is a grand mansion lovingly restored by the innkeepers and filled with art and memorabilia that is worthy of the setting. Our room and bathroom were huge and very comfortable. Mell's breakfasts were delicious -- from baked waffles to polenta and poached eggs with roasted red pepper sauce. Mell served us breakfast at 7 to accommodate my husband's convention schedule and chauffeured us to our initial destinations every morning. We also fell in love with Sinbad, the resident gentle and mellow Bull Mastiff. Very nice place to stay and be treated like royalty while in Chicago.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mell_monroe123, Owner at Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for recently recommending our business and for sharing with the online consumer community your positive experience. Please introduce yourself next time you visit as we would like to extend our appreciation in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geisenheim, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Inn Manor is a very nice B&B, refurbished with love by it's owner Angie & Mell Monroe, at the Southside of Chicago in Bronzeville.
If you are interested in a well-preserved historical building, hospitality, a good breakfast and if you like to meet nice People from all over the world, that's the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoMaass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,501 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyde Park
Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#2 of 22 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Rogers Park
Lang House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4563 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60653-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE HOT BREAKFAST & FREE PARKING & FREE TRANSPORTATION DROP OFF SERVICE AFTER BREAKFAST TO ANY ONE OF OVER 100 CHICAGO SITES! The inn's true ambiance appeals to the aesthetic tastes and expectations of travelers looking for a unique experience and personal-touch accommodations. The common areas include a living room, dining room, family room, eat in kitchen and an outdoor deck for guests to enjoy. Each 2nd floor bedroom suite has a private bath with an outstanding just like home decor. During the Spring and Summer Season, the 3rd floor, 3 bedroom suites have a shared bath. Groups and families often book the entire home so they can be together and be spoiled under one roof. The entire inn is organically created to be a warm, cozy and inviting experience while each room has its own theme and history. This B&B is filled with great style, fun music, tasteful art, cultural exchange, great food and lively conversation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Welcome Inn Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing