We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Chicago
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Splurged on a weekend at this property to celebrate our anniversary. It was great - King room was very comfortable with a delightful bathroom and amenities. Upon learning it was our anniversary they delivered a tray with water and chocolate bars soon after arrival. Other than that, we did not interact with staff much - we know our way around Chicago quite well so just did our own thing. However I could not wait to get back to our room because it was so comfortable. Nespresso coffee machine hidden in a multi-drawer unit was a delightful surprise. The towels were thick and large but the stone floors are cold so slippers were useful. I loved the privacy glass in the bathroom and the master switch for the lights etc a nice touch. This hotel is a little off Michigan Avenue but we were grateful for this as shopping was not a goal for us and the quiet was just what we wanted. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingnurse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Happy Anniversary—we’re honored that you chose to celebrate at our hotel. Wonderful that you made use of so many of your room’s detail—Nespresso, privacy glass—and had a restful celebratory weekend. Congratulations, and we look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 2,547 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

If I had my kids they would have been welcomed and they would have loved it. There was no detail overlooked. From the moment my car door opened upon arrival to my car door closing upon leaving, the hotel and staff were amazing. My wife had some spa treatments while there and she loved every part of them. The hotel is in a perfect location as well.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KellyImagined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience—I’m so glad to hear your stay went so well, including your wife’s visit to Chuan Spa. We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the years ahead.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel has wonderfully equipped standard rooms. The decor is contemporary but warmly inviting, lots of marble, granite, white leather. Rooms are very well lit with clearly marked remote switches. Loved the optional privacy glass partition separating the rain shower and spa tub from the sleeping quarters. Appreciated the water closet and lighted makeup mirror in the vanity. Every amenity you could need is provided - safe, large flat screen TV, work desk, side chairs and small table, robe, slippers, generous selection of toiletries, bathroom scales, in room coffee/espresso maker with china cups and silver spoons ( as a coffee lover I notice this is often omitted from high end rooms). Some interesting considerate touches you don't often find, like coat hooks in the entry. Although I didn't technically have a view room, from the 11th floor I could see the river and it provided an interesting vantage point for the Downtown buildings. Staff was very nice and always there when you needed them. Beautiful hardwood floors in the hall ways with noise reduced by rugs. Walking distance to State Street Macy's to look at the Christmas windows. Didn't want to leave!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank MarenOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing such a keen eye for details. Wonderful to hear your stay went so well. We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

It's the little things that push a hotel over the 4 star to the 5 star rating. The little things went very wrong. Wi-Fi did not work my entire stay. They called engineering but still could not fix it. After waiting until 3am in the morning to see if they had fixed it, I called down and was told that they would start working on it again at 9:00am when engineering returned.....too late. An entire work day was lost. They graciously asked me what newspaper I would prefer in the morning, I told them, it was never delivered. It's the little things.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindyCityChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you so much for sharing the details of your stay so that we can immediately address opportunities. It is indeed the little things that make the difference. I am so sorry that the technical breakdown with our WI-Fi could not be resolved much faster and apologize for the inconvenience and the missing newspaper. We have taken corrective steps to prevent any recurrence and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Langham in the near future.

Cheers for now and safe travels,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We traveled to the Langham for a quick getaway and get a jump on Michigan Avenue holiday shopping. From the moment we pulled up to when we drove off - the staff is very attentive. Check in was a breeze and the room was outstanding. Your views are either of Lake Michigan or Marina Towers ... so you can't lose. The rooms are clean and crisp; the Bose bluetooth radios are a nice touch so you can link your iPhone music; the opaque bathroom window is fun and even the standard room amenities are top notch. It is a shame to compare others to the Langham standard because they have set the bar so high.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Wonderful to hear from you—thank you for sharing so many details from your stay. I’m so glad you made the most of the Bose stereo and the room amenities. Also very glad to hear your check-in and departure went so easily. All the best to your this holiday season—we look forward to welcoming you again.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

This place is headquartered out of Hong Kong, and Hong Kong is pioneering luxury in ways U.S. brands like The Ritz Carlton and The Four Seasons simply don't keep pace with. Gorgeous windows everywhere showcasing some of Chicago's coolest architecture; rejuvenating/soothing/ultra-comfortable design in every space that makes you want to relax and linger; the club level is worth the extra fee, terrific club room, great staff; the spa is also very nice.




Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words and for staying with us. Also, thank you so much for recommending our hotel and club lounge. Wonderful to hear from you, and we look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Beautiful room with amazing views over the Chicago River, gorgeous sunsets and sunrises. The room wasn't over the top in anyway but the bathroom was huge with a nice large tub. Staff was on point. The one caveat is that the Club area was running rampant with small children, who were unsupervised and LOUD. Although staff tried to kindly ask them to quiet down, there were no parents present so they just picked up again after staff left. Although the price is worth it in every other way, it was a little too kid friendly for the cost, and the reason we stayed there was to take a vacation from our own children. Overall, a great hotel and nice experience, though.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure they all have great views, but ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience, and that the room and views were so enjoyable. Thank you as well for your notes on the Langham Club lounge. We are still determining the best age policies and practices, and so we thank you for your observations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the years ahead.

Sincerely,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,564 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,414 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Chicago

Address: 330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3586
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £218 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown in a landmark building designed by renowned architect Mies van der Rohe, luxury hotel The Langham, Chicago is just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing