We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern elegance, great for business or leisure travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham, Chicago
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Opened in an old IBM office tower a year ago, The Langham is freshly done and it shows. On the river and about a mile from the lake, it is convenient to all of downtown Chicago's offerings. On entry, you are directed to the second floor reception desk (which is useful because otherwise, it would not be clear where to check in). Stately and serene stone and dark wood outfit the public areas and hallways. I had a Langham King for $425 for a weeknight. Not inexpensive but Chicago is not. Partial river view on the 5th floor was actually a very nice view of the river and the Wabash St. drawbridge, with the boat traffic on the river. Floor to ceiling windows mean it's light and bright. On the subject of lighting, very well-lit room with plenty of lamps and even a track lighting system on the ceiling. Separate vanity/dressing area, plus double sinks and well lit mirrors in bathroom. Unique deep tub/shower combination with a window into the room that frosts over at the touch of a button. While it does not look like enough privacy when you walk in, the ability to frost the window plus the sliding bathroom door confer privacy if needed. Separate toilet area. Very quiet room despite being 10 yards from elevators and only on the 5th floor. Room service for lunch was fast and lots of healthy options if that is what you want. Sign up for the Langham frequent guest program (free) for free internet access. Has a gym but did not use it because the lakeshore path is close. Heard a man checking out saying he usually stays at the Four Seasons but would now just choose the Langham.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATLhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,000 - 2,006 of 2,479 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here May 2014; I was on business and he was with me for a couple of days over the weekend, so we used many of the facilities meaning gym, bar, business centre etc. Terribly impressed. Very beautiful to look at. I think the room was near perfect in terms of thinking of meeting all needs. Great lighting system, Great bathroom area. Dressing room and make up table. Super comfy bed. Quiet. the wifi worked perfectly. Esp liked the concierge service, really helpful people. Fab location. And so we give it 10/10. My only very very small negative is that the breakfast staff were a little off hand but maybe that is because we don't like being over served at breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Langham is one of the best hotels I have stayed. There were 4 friends visiting for a long weekend. We were very privileged to stay on their Club Floor, which gave us access to the Club Lounge. Wow what amazing service were received there by Edwin and his staff. Keep up the good work. You are all awesome. You all made our visit even more special.

Room Tip: Club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maples86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A good friend and I took a chance on Hotwire, and were very lucky to end up at The Langham for two nights. Beautiful spacious rooms (and bathrooms!), fine amenities, a friendly and helpful staff, a lovely bar, a fantastic location - truly five stars. My friend thought she left her glasses in a restaurant; she asked the concierge to confirm while we went out, and when we returned he handed her the glasses. Yes, THAT kind of service! I wish I could stay at places like this whenever I travel. A very special treat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanZ416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel shows how it should be done. From the initial greeting from the doorman, to the friendly and really helpful check-in representative, to the porter who brought up our luggage and gave us a tour of the facilities in the room the customer service is second to none. It's a new hotel so the decor and the fixtures and fittings in the hotel are second to none, (the rooms are really large and stunning), but it's the service that really shines through. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. This was our first stay in a Langham hotel and we will definitely be booking with the group again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBigRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Perched inside an iconic Mies Van Der Rohe slice of architectural heaven, this property screams modern luxury and discretion. I called the hotel for airport car service and was ecstatic to learn that the driver would only have a pink Langham sign and nothing with my name on it. The bar was energetic and pleasing to the eye. There was a slight hiccup with in-room dining but the staff was apologetic and corrected the matter swiftly. It's location is also to-die-for as it is less than a mile to Millennium Park.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank ShareBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I wanted to have a romantic weekend experience away from our children and daily routines and this experience did the trick exceptionally. Although we live nearby in the city, this weekend seemed like a far away retreat. The room was excellent, the facilities and spa were great and the location was within walking distance to everything that we were looking for. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The only item that I would say could use a bit of improvement was the food service (both dining room and room service). Overall a wonderful hotel and great addition to the Chicago hotel scene. We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobcbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,534 reviews
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Chicago

Address: 330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3586
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £230 - £696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown in a landmark building designed by renowned architect Mies van der Rohe, luxury hotel The Langham, Chicago is just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing