We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you don't know about "The Langham Chicago" you should!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Langham, Chicago
Ranked #2 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you don't know about "The Langham Chicago" you should!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Relatively new to Chicago but rates up there with the best of the best. I have visited Chicago numerous times over the years and typically would try new hotels. From now on when I come to Chicago I am staying at The Langham! Absolutely spectacular in the attention to detail. The un assuming shared corporate entrance is transformed into a stunning hotel atmosphere as you enter the inner confines of The Langham. I would recommend this property to anyone. First Class from top to bottom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryPalumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    186
    37
    12
    1
See reviews for
360
813
77
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We are from New Zealand- down our part of the world Langham is a well regarded chain and we joined the loyalty programme some time ago; we have stayed at a number of the properties in Australasia and Asia. Finding the new Langham Chicago was located in the Mies van der Rohe designed IBM building added to the anticipation of the stay here. The many rave reviews of this property on TA are absolutely on the money- it is a fantastic hotel and a credit to the staff who make it this way.
The location on the Chicago River could not be better. We found the service to be of a high standard; staff are knowledgeable and polite. We were upgraded to a higher floor room as requested. The rooms are large, well appointed and obviously very new. The beds are comfortable and the servicing of the room was faultless.
"Travelle", the buzzy restaurant of the hotel has a great atmosphere and interesting Mediterranean inspired cuisine. The wine list far exceeded expectation.
My only negative has nothing to do with the Langham management. Mr van der Rohe was a sensational modernist architect, but designed before the era of double glazing, and although his beautiful building looks great, it does not shut out the street noise. There were a lot of emergency vehicle sirens at night which were disturbing- there is a big hospital complex just off Nth Michigan Avenue. We were grateful for the high floor room and would recommend this to light sleepers. I doubt that Langham management can get the nasty Trump Hotel across the road moved to the "Bad Taste" Desert, but it would be great if they could!
Again, full marks to the new Langham Chicago team!

Room Tip: Request a high room if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drurolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had the luck to get a great deal for this hotel. And boy, I can say I was privileged to have stayed at the Hotel and experience its outstanding customer service. I had wonderful experiences at all levels in interacting with the various aspects of the hotel. From the helpful front desk, to outstanding concierge. As to the rooms, it was fabulously decorated and all elements have been carefully thought out. The location is great being right in the middle of downtown Chicago and on the river. One can get to anywhere by walking if the weather is good. And as an aside, the Hotel space before it was turned into a hotel was used for many office scene in the second Batman movie.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZvonimirSiljkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed over a long weekend following a business trip to the area and loved every minute of it. We had a King room on the club level and it was worth every penny! Down the hall in the club lounge, the food for breakfast, tea and cocktails was always great and there was plenty of it. The concierge personnel were very efficient and took care of all our needs, even helping us get to a show on time in the rain. We had dinner in the restaurant, Travelle, and it was very good. The room was very clean, very well kept up and had an excellent in room bar cabinet stocked with quality items. You can't go wrong staying here in a club suite.

Room Tip: The hotel is the first 13 floors of the building. I recommend the 13th floor, which has the club lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OKCtraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We are from Chicago and wanted to get away for a night in the city. Due to a plumbing issue, we were immediately whisked away to a suite that was the the most beautiful suite I have ever stayed in. And I've stayed in quite a few. The hotel is in a great location across the street from Trump right on the river. There is so much to do and see right from this location. The hotel bar at street level served the best cocktail and the service was impeccable. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WSFamily050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful river-view suite. I would not do with anything less in this location, because there is no point in staying at the riverside if you do not get to see it. It's also a great starting point for if you want to take one of the many boat tours that are offered just across the bridge. Staff was nice and efficient and the quality of the room was close to outstanding. Definitively recommendable even if its a little bit on the pricey side. The only drawback was its distance from downtown Chicago and the pier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We chose this hotel for our anniversary, and the staff was extremely friendly. Once we got to our room, there was an odor and my husband noticed a stain on the carpet. We switched rooms, and the new room was much better. You can hear noises from other rooms, and the windows to street level are not soundproof. We were on the 10th floor and it sounded like we were street level.

The rooms do have very nice amenities, and the staff is nice, however we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tracylee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Chicago

Property: The Langham, Chicago
Address: 330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3586
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown in a landmark building designed by renowned architect Mies van der Rohe, luxury hotel The Langham, Chicago is just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Langham, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing