We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Chicago
Ranked #2 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top class stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Perfect ! Everything was excellent. We stayed there for 3 nights and we enjoyed every second of it. The location is great, just minutes from the magnificent mile. The design and decor are posh and chic, the king size bed was clean and comfortable. The toilet and shower are separate so that one can shower while the other do their business. There's a glass separating the shower room to the bedroom, which one can 'fog' up by the touch of a button for privacy. The staff are friendly and helpful. And while you are staying there, be sure to have high tea at The Pavilion, they have excellent high tea, the scones, sandwiches and petit fours will for sure further enhance your experience at the Langham.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BON2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,946
    189
    37
    12
    2
See reviews for
367
833
78
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have NEVER written a travel review before, but after staying at The Langham, I simply felt I had an obligation to write one. I've copy and pasted an email I sent to my concierge at The Langham the day after I checked out, as it clearly describes my experience perfectly.

I do want to quickly say that this hotel is not for those looking for glitz and glam or want to walk down Michigan Avenue boasting that they're staying at The Drake or something (like that's even something to boast about). This hotel is for the privileged few who not only understand, but appreciate the finer subtleties that go into making an experience a sublime luxury experience like no other. It's all in the details, finishes, the extra bit of care and anticipation of every need that sets The Langham apart from any other hotel in Chicago........and while hotels like The Drake, The Palmer House, and The Hilton have their historical landmark charm, so does The Langham (which no other 5-star hotel in this city has), which resides in a building designed by a man who redefined the skyscraper, the great Mies Van Der Rohe.

Below, my letter to the esteemed Langham concierge who assisted me throughout my stay...

Dear Xxxx,

During my many years of living in Chicago, I have sampled and stayed at the Four Seasons, the Peninsula, the Trump, Ritz Carlton, Park Hyatt, and the Waldorf Astoria (to name my favorites). I have never had such an experience as the one I had at The Langham...

Your level of service, attention to big and simple details, your finer amenities, and the luxurious stylized rooms/interior-design puts your hotel (with-out hesitation) at the top of my list. From the moment I arrived, to the moment I (regrettably) stepped out of the door, The Langham felt like an oasis and a retreat from the city, but within the city. Your attention to our occasion and making us (myself and my partner) feel special during our entire stay was executed with perfection and precision.

I am often asked in my line of work in luxury retail and jewelry sales for recommendations on where to eat, what to do, and where to stay in this world class city we love and work in. I have for years recommended either the Peninsula or the Waldorf Astoria, but moving forward, my top recommendation will be The Langham. I hesitate on the recommending the other two every time, but in recommending your hotel, I can confidently say and convey to my dear and invaluable clients that their stay with you will be a sublime experience unrivaled by any other hotel in this city...

Thank you again for all of your assistance in making this past weekend so incredibly special...it's already been decided that we will return to The Langham again in the very near future and will continue to return for years down the road :)

*end letter*

If you want to experience Chicago the way it was meant be experienced, stay here...you will not regret it for a minute.

Room Tip: Any room choice is a good choice...I stayed in a Langham Grand King and it was absolutely perfect an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I enjoy Chicago and visit a couple times a year usually, We decided to splurge a little and stay in the club level. Lets just say for over $600.00 a night, service should be impeccable, and it was not. The club level lounge had amazing views up high over looking the river and the city. It was a great breakfast, as well as appetizers/light dinner with premium unlimited cocktails. I just thought they could pay a little more attention to details, have better informed/trained staff and maybe even a few more staff on. Location was great, right in the heart of the city across the street from the trump and on the river. (lets just say the Mandarin Oriental could teach them a few things)
I am not high maintenance but do expect things done right, one or two things wrong is ok but there were very many problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riverwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us, for choosing a Club Level lounge, and for your overall recommendations. I also appreciate very much your notes on service opportunities for future visits, and I will share these with my team.

Sincerely,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I travel regularly for business and usually consider myself a Four Seasons devote. But I am so pleased with my stay here at The Langham, I'm writing this before I even check out! I've been her 4 nights already and have another 6 delightful nights ahead. Firstly, the rooms are elegant, serene and warm. The kind of hotel room that makes you want to take pictures so when you get home you can redecorate. The bathrooms are gracious and large, the shower comes at your from all invigorating directions and there's even a separate dressing area. And the beds -- divine! Downstairs is a delightful gym/spa/pool with all the amenities -- I actually can't wait to get down there in the mornings. The bar is relaxed but jovial, and the service here is impeccable! What do you need? They're at your service. Great location, great service, everything a hotel should be. Highly recommend this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoKristiGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed Friday and Saturday night. British ownership shows. All staff are very attentive, friendly, eager to help. Great workout facility. Good style in room. Comfortable beds. Perfect location, at river walk, across from Trump. This will be my favorite now in downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: Don't ask for lake view, because Trump blocked that. But otherwise perfect hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stay in at least 20 hotels per year. All too often, hotels have nice lobbies and flash rooms, but don't follow up with decent service. The Langham was a clear exception to this, and when we did have a minor issue with one room the hotel moved us quickly to another and compensated us with breakfast and cocktails.

If I had to pick one flaw, I'd have to say I wasn't a big fan of the breakfasts served in the hotel's asian themed restaurant. In my world, steak and eggs shouldn't involve sprigs of rocket, or green pesto!

To conclude - not cheap, but money well spent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Chicago Langham for three nights recently and were extremely happy with our choice. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed. Staff were very friendly and aways willing to offer advice or assistance with our daily plans. Breakfast was delicious and served beautifully. We would definitely stay there again when in Chicago

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boswell1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
1,398 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
1,723 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Chicago

Property: The Langham, Chicago
Address: 330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3586
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown in a landmark building designed by renowned architect Mies van der Rohe, luxury hotel The Langham, Chicago is just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing