We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't want to leave my room....but the shopping along Michigan Avenue was too tempting...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham, Chicago
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

New kid on the block...the Langham did well in converting office space into a great hotel! The room was very well appointed with a very organised cabinet to fit in the mini-bar and coffee machine. Michigan Ave is just steps away from the hotel. The door man was always friendly and smiling...very genuine in his service. Love the beautiful art pieces in the hotel....great taste!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,757 - 1,763 of 2,479 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Excellent hotel if somewhat expensive, staff are attentive and polite, sleep quality is great, rooms are large and well proportioned. Great sound system in the room 'Bose' , good wifi.
Pool, fitness centre and spa are great, my only quibble is that there is no outside space with the pool, nowhere to sunbathe or chill in the sun either before or after a swim. This is a real shame. Other hotels in town do provide this.
Fulsome mini or not so mini bar but nothing complementary. Good location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Langham is beautiful. This luxury hotel is very well appointed and elegant, fit for kings and queens. What make it exquisite are its people. They are ever so attentive and helpful, yet subtle. From the gentlemen valets who park your car, from the moment you are personally greeted at the lobby entry, and to the afternoon attendant who turns the bed in the suite, they will make you feel royalty. A very fine example of hospitality. I rate it 5+ out of 5.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Langham is located in an office tower and as a result the floor plate is very large and somewhat square-like. The halls are long and wide and it feels like a hotel in an office tower. The rooms are large and quiet. The bathroom is elegant and has a gas-infused glass that changes from opaque to translucent at the touch of a button. The internet was speedy. The spa is terrific, with small but elegant steam rooms and sauna. The gym is also quite good. The hotel's breakfast was tasty. The Langham is elegant and the service was very appropriate for the setting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very nice place with wonderful rooms. Not cheap but everything looks and feels expensive and high quality.

Best room service ever and compared to the type of hotel at a very reasonable price.

Very good location directly at the river and just three blocks from Michigan Avenue.

Very friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChristianW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We gifted friends a weekend at the Langham for their anniversary recently. In turn the wife asked me to join her at the spa for a few services. I have traveled pretty extensively and visited many spas but I must say this spa far exceeds any other! I live in Chicago but thus will be my go to spa place from now on. The hotel and it's staff are equally incredible. Our friends were overwhelmed by their suite and the service they received throughout the weekend.

Room Tip: Facing East for Lake views or facing South for river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a nice night out and had very high expectations given the reviews we had read. Of course, the location is incredible and the room was very well appointed. I'd say the highlight was the bathroom--the shower and tub were excellent. We had a great, relaxing stay. I can't give it five stars because there were several small hiccups, any one of which I'd disregard, but enough of them added up and just seemed odd for a place of this caliber. 1) When we went to check in, they didn't have our reservation (made through an outside service), and after I showed them my confirmation email, they quickly accommodated us, but still, it appeared to be an error on The Langham's end. 2) After we were in our room for about 15 minutes, the doorbell rang and a very polite gentleman came in with chocolate bars, a nice bottle of Evian, and a handwritten card. Except that my wife noticed that the card was addressed to someone else, at which point the guy looked horrified, took the card, left the chocolate, and apologized, saying "Forget I was ever here." 3) They asked when we checked in if we wanted the Chicago Tribune or the New York Times in the morning. I opted for the Times, but in the morning, we had neither (and other rooms had the Times waiting outside their doors. Again, none of these is a huge deal, but all three, especially at a place in this stratosphere, tainted an otherwise positive experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank adamkronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,534 reviews
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Chicago

Address: 330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3586
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £230 - £696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown in a landmark building designed by renowned architect Mies van der Rohe, luxury hotel The Langham, Chicago is just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing