We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word - perfection!!”
Review of Wrigley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wrigley Hostel
Sydney
1 review
“One word - perfection!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hostel was nothing short of amazing. Location was perfect, it was super clean and the beds were great too. But one thing the hostel needs to be commended on is their FANTASTIC SERVICE! I left my handbag with money, credit card and personal belongings in the hostel room (10 bed dorm) and didn't realize until 2 days later. I rang the hostel in a panic as I was worried someone had stolen it. I spoke to Olivia first and the the manager/owner Brendan about retrieving the bag and whether anyone had turned it in. After a few phone calls, Brendan informed me that they had my bag with everything still inside. I am so grateful for this hostel and the owner Brendan and staff. They need to be commended on their service and being unbeliavbly polite. I will definitely be staying here again. Thanks guys! Keep up the great work

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahSchadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    47
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
2
18
71
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a hostel not a hotel so do not expect fancy. Everything was very basic. The building and the plumbing is old so the water pressure is not great. The facilities are clean. The people are friendly. The bed was comfortable. I felt safe there. There is no air conditioning. I expected to be uncomfortable at night but the cool evening breeze kept the room pleasant. My only complaint is that the room had no fan. In order to get a cross breeze, I had to sleep with my door open. The surrounding area is bustling. There is a plethora of bars on an adjacent street (Clark). The hostel is less than a block from the red line train so getting to downtown Chicago is super easy. If I ever go to Chicago solo again, I will definitely stay at the Wrigley Hostel.

Room Tip: The rooms not near the common area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 18th Anniversary on July 27, 2014. We stayed at the Wrigley Hostel on July 26th, and checked out July 27th. Our room was AWESOME!!! The Staff was AWESOME!!! The breakfast was FREE and AWESOME!!! We had stayed in luxury hotels in downtown Chicago before, and this Hostel ranks with the best hotels in Chicago. Location is great, especially if you are attending a game at Wrigley. We did, and you can't beat the one block walk to the stadium and all of the excitement in Wrigleyville. We are already planning another trip and stay at the Wrigley Hostel. The Price, Location, Staff, and Rooms are great and the "Train or L" is right around the corner, if you want to visit downtown. Thank you Wrigley Hostel for making our anniversary special. See you soon.

Room Tip: Make sure if you travel as a couple to reserve the private or 2 bed bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Positives.
This hostel is in a great location: Wrigley Field, home of the Cubs Baseball Team is just at the end of the street (North Sheffield Avenue) and the plethora of local bars creates a welcoming nightlife just around the corner on North Clark Street. In terms of getting into the centre of town it's a twenty minute ride on the metro which you catch from Addison-Red, again just at the bottom of the street.

The hostel itself is absolutely fine. Our room was clean, roomy and bright. There is a basic free breakfast of the standard you get across the states of pancakes, toast and fruit. (After a few weeks travelling this daily menu became a bit oppressive but you can never knock the price!) There is a common area, free wifi and the staff were perfectly polite.

Negatives.
This is a new hostel and it feels like a bit like a shy adolescent that hasn't figured out how to navigate a party yet. There was no real 'vibe' when we stayed. Across the states we stayed in some amazing hostels, sometimes party hostels (eg Hostel Cat Vegas) and sometimes incredibly serene places where everyone seemed to be naturally drawn into the communal spaces to chat all night (e.g Pilgrim House Hostel, Tennessee and Hostel International, Phoenix). Wrigley Hostel doesn't seem to promote much socialising on either end of the spectrum.

The kitchen, which is in the hall only has limited space and can't really serve as much of a hub. There is a downstairs common room with a pool table (in need of repair), sofas, TV etc but hidden in the basement you have to actively search for it and could easily never know it exists. Certainly whilst we were there it was always quiet.

The layout isn't the end of the world if the staff are pro-active and enthusiastic about getting people together etc. As I say the staff were perfectly polite and helpfully when you approached them (if you could find them). It just feels like they all need a bit more confidence and hutzpah if they're going to create a hostel with the same exciting atmosphere as it's surroundings.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was my first hostel i'd ever booked for a group of friends, and also the first time i'd ever stayed in a hostel. This stay was nothing short of fantastic, there was great vibes throughout and the area of Wrigleyville itself is just awesome. The Red Line of the "L" is around the corner, making easy access to the city for sightseeing, at about a 20 minute journey each way.

There is a long strip of bars, restaurants, sports memorabilia and vintage stores directly behind the hostel, making a local night out excellent fun. The Stadium is big, beautiful and brimming with Cubs history, make sure to see a game when you're there, the atmosphere is electric and there's nothing quite like an American MLB game.

Back to the hostel, the wifi was strong, rooms were clean and well presented and four bathrooms on the second floor. As said, we partied in the common room downstairs one night as we couldn't decide where to go out. a quick trip to the 7/11 two houses down ensured the beer was flowing for the night, and many new friends were made of all nationalities. the Common room has a ping pong table, tv, couches and a bar, as well as a bathroom - great craic.

Our beds were comfy, the place was warm as Chicago is freezing in the winter. The breakfast was outstanding, free pancakes made by staff, fruit, toast, coffee and tea! what more could you ask for. There is also storage available for food, and a fridge for perishable items.

As for the city itself, Millennium park where the Bean is located is lovely, and opposite the road the Art Institute. Defiantly both worth a look, as well as the Chicago Skydeck (located in the Willis tower) and if you don't want to pay to get in there, the John Hancock Observatory has a viewing platform where there is a bar, there is usually a line to get to the top but it's free providing you don't purchase an expensive cocktail. The only tourist attraction i thought was skippable, was the Navy Pier, essentially a tourist trap for overpriced commercial restaurants and tacky tourist memorabilia. Stay away if you prefer culture, the city itself is enough to be immersed in without places like the pier. The Magnificent Mile is something spectacular as you walk around the beautifully designed city, which I found to be clean, vibrant and full of energy. Sample some Chicago Deep Dish Pizza, and enjoy the city!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CateRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here in September staff were really down to earth and friendly, so were the type of people staying here. My favourite hostel stay over three months by far, felt so welcome as a lone traveller!
Was a little noisy sometimes, but there was a giant festival on so it's nothing I didn't expect- ear plugs are just the way forward in all hostels.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor which was a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireReviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

On a positive it was in a great location! So close to transport & cool area.
For a new hostel I guess it's okay- they need to improve a fair few things. This hostel had the worst wifi EVER!
Someone stole ours & everyone else's food. It didn't have much of a fun party vibe. (Stay here if your boring. )The showers sucked. No pressure at all & Always waiting to try and get into one.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 189 in Chicago
505 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#52 of 189 in Chicago
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 189 in Chicago
874 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrigley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrigley Hostel

Property: Wrigley Hostel
Address: 3514 N Sheffield Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-0948 (Formerly Chicago's Hostel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Wrigleyville , Lakeview
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wrigley Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wrigley Hostel is a fun and exciting youth hostel located in the heart of Wrigleyville, steps from the world famous Wrigley Field and only 15 minutes from downtown via the CTA Red Line. We offer Private Rooms, 4 and 6 bed dorms to guests and offer great amenities such as an outdoor deck to BBQ and a common room with a bar and a full kitchen. We provide free WiFi and free breakfast to guests. Come and visit us at Wrigley Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wrigley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing