We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Spiaggia

Cafe Spiaggia
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Spiaggia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #365 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Magnificent Mile
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a wonderful experience. We were seated in a little alcove facing Michigan Ave and the Drake Hotel. Very intimate table for two. Our server Gustavo was very accommodating and answered all of our questions patiently and very thoroughly. Bread and oil was delicious. My wife ordered the wild boar gnocchi and she remarked the gnocchi melted in your mouth. I decided on the tagliatelle with crab meat and it was outstanding. A slight briny flavor and the tastes blended in nicely with the crab. All in all a wonderful experience. A must try while in Chicago.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank civicnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    42
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
314 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Informal rustic atmosphere with views of the Lake - just. Beautifully executed dishes - modern Italian style - venison ' the best I have ever had', pork cutlet likewise (tender, tender from sous vide, then finished in pan with a wonderful jus). Great value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful romantic meal”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our concierge got us a table for 2 that was tucked into a little alcove in a window, very quiet and private.. We were here on a Friday night. This is the more casual version of Spiaggia and after walking through the more formal restaurant, we were happy with our choice. My husband got the Berkshire pork chop and it was the best pork chop I ever tasted. The cook came out and told us the recipe after we raved about it. I had the ravioli and it was also good. We split the italian donut for dessert and it was amazing. We loved it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docgresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite place to eat in Chicago”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The food, service, ambiance, and location can not be beat. If I could go higher than a 5 star I would. I always, always, eat here when I am in Chicago!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterFiltersFast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too noisy”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was with a group of eight people and had dinner at Cafe Spiaggia. Our reservations were for 8:30 and when we arrived were told the table was not ready and they did not have any idea how long it would be. They escorted us to the lounge to wait. I think upon seeing that we were not going to order drinks but just sit and wait until the table was ready, they decided to go ahead and seat us. The table was not large enough at first - They tried to put us at a table for six but we just did not fit. The waiter finally added a another table and chairs. The noise level was so loud we could not hear each other talk. One person in our group got up to leave and we were all trying to decide if we should leave but due to the lateness of the evening, everyone decided to stay put. I ordered a beet salad and ravioli. The food was terrific but I will probably not return because of the crowded table and noise level.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Spiaggia also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Spiaggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing