We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizza by the slice”
Review of The Art of Pizza

The Art of Pizza
Ranked #512 of 9,531 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Lakeview
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pizza by the slice”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Don't go here expecting a sit-down Giordano's type of experience...but it's good pizza that's cheap and fast.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
177 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Stuffed is the way to go”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Have been here a few times and tried the thin crust, deep dish and the stuffed. Stuffed wins in my book hands down. For times when you cant handle stuffed, the thin crust is very good too. The salads are very fresh. I have had polite, kind service. No problems. The interior for eating in has no ambiance, just a "hole in the wall" kind of atmosphere with a couple of tvs, one of which was set to Spanish speaking station. Bathroom kind of smelled like sewer. Take out is also the way to go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City
Level Contributor
207 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Best value for money pizza in Chicago...”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Yes you will find better Pizza in Chicago, but not at $4 for a generously sized slice.

For me, Art of Pizza gives by far the best Value for Money I have found for Pizza in Chicago...

If I'm ordering the whole Pizza, Philly's Best shades it on quality, but for $4/slice, fresh, tasty and with an exceptional crust, I would recommend this every time.

There is a fair selection of Pizzas - usually 6-8, with a selection of deep dish and thin crust.

There are also excellent daily specials, very good Ribs and a good selection of desserts.

The only negative if eating in, there is no beer etc available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Solid Joint”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Art of Pizza is a solid place to grab some Pizza. The deep dish is pretty great and you really cant go wrong with some of the pan pizza or thin slices. There's always plenty of selection whenever I want to grab a slice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pancake113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

If you're looking for a great slice of pizza, stop by Art of Pizza. Deep dish, pan and thin slices are all great. Pizza is always consistently good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patnick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Art of Pizza also viewed

 

Been to The Art of Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing