We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little find in Wicker Park”
Review of Penny's Noodle Shop - CLOSED

Penny's Noodle Shop
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great little find in Wicker Park”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We needed a Thai food fix and stumbled across this little corner restaurant while visiting Wicker Park.. The service was fast and efficient with good recommendations on food. Parking in the area is beyond ridiculous but,once you get past that, you can enjoy a good meal and a pleasant atmosphere. As we get older, it is nice to find places that you can talk in normal voices and hear at the same time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casualtraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keokuk, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just came home from Chicago visiting our Daughter and Son in Law. Found this place just around the corner from their house. We had Thai fried rice and Spicy basil chicken bowl. Both dish were very good,inexpensive and the staff were friendly. We plan on eating in this restaurant every time we visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lunzki7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, bad parking”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a great little noodle shop with very nice service and good prices. The only downside is that parking in the area is terrible - it took us as much time to find a parking space as it did to eat dinner there. When I asked about a menu item the server told me a modification they could make that wasn't on the menu and was the perfect summer dinner. It's worth going out of your way to eat here if you love southeast Asian noodles, but be prepared to go crazy finding parking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSurely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stumbled across this place before we went to the barcade Headquarters. Great inexpensive food and good beer

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blayze Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pad see eu”
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

Flavor was good, broccoli was tender crisp. Decided I don't like the texture of this particular noodle though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing