We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All Around Dining Experience”

Francesca's Bryn Mawr
Reserve with OpenTable
Francesca's Bryn Mawr is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,128 of 9,660 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kenmore
Transit: Just steps from the Red Line's Bryn Mawr Station and from the 147 and 151 bus routes on Sheridan Avenue.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great All Around Dining Experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is one of the better Francesca's restaurants and it is mostly because of the staff and ambiance. They all have good food, (the fresh fish dishes are my favorite), but the staff there and the overall atmosphere, jsut makes it a great experience whether you are on a date or with a party of friends. Always enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoZeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite Chicago Restaurant!”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is our go-to place when we want to have a great dinner and drinks with friends. The food is always fresh, exciting and a good value for the quality of food received. The menu is new almost every night, with several of the favorite main stays which always stay on the menu. Their Monday night deal for any app, any entree, and any dessert is fantastic! I have never had a bad meal or experience here!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack_WChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not worth the money but good food!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The food is great, but in the last year or so the restaurant has cut in half the size of their portions, at least for pasta. A single dish used to be enough for two, now it's enough for one with no take away if you have an average appetite...and the price is the same!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancerbug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon Hills
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Leisurely lunch at Francesca's”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We wanted to take our son out to lunch while we were visiting him during Loyola's Homecoming/Family weekend. I did a search on restaurants nearby and didn't find much that looked good to me until I saw there was a Francesca's not to far away.

It was nice that they were open for a Saturday lunch too.

There were 6 in our party. No valet parking at lunch so we had to find street parking, I think we parked on Broadway and then walked about 2 1/2 blocks to the restaurant.

Service was slow but we weren't in a hurry. Francesca's seems to maintain a pretty consistent quality throughout the many locations. There was a prix fix type lunch special which was what I had. Love their bruschetta. Desserts are very good too. Nice atmosphere in this location as well.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fern60514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Francesca's on Bryn Mawr serves consistently good food in a fun and energetic atmosphere. My husband and I recently took our college age kids there for dinner and they loved it. We started with the classic Bruschetta Romana, country bread piled high with fresh tomatoes, ricotta cheese and basil. We also shared a large plate of warm lentils sitting on a bed of sauteed spinach and topped with ricotta cheese, yum! We shared three pasta dishes and all were well-prepared and tasty. Unfortunately, we were too full for dessert, but the selections sounded wonderful. Our waiter was attentive and helpful and Thursdays are half priced bottles of wine, not to be missed!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug90587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Francesca's Bryn Mawr also viewed

 

Been to Francesca's Bryn Mawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing