We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian options”
Review of Irazu

Irazu
Ranked #413 of 9,767 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Latin, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: Wicker Park / Bucktown
Description: Irazu is Chicago's first and only Costa Rican restaurant and we've been perfecting our style for the past 27 years. We've been a mainstay in the heart of Bucktown, just steps from the O'Hare Blue Line (Western station) and "The 606". Come visit us for a quick bite or a rustic sit-down meal with friends and family - your stomach and your party (and your wallet) will thank you! Pura Vida!
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We love Irazu. It's veg-friendly, and there are several meatless options, as well as soy shakes that are to die for!

I always order the vegetarian burrito, a banana soy shake, and a huge order of the amazing guacamole. The burrito is so darn good. How can a burrito be special, you ask? I wish I had the answer. It just is.

Prices are super reasonable, and before you go, know that they do not accept credit cards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry C, Owner at Irazu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for the feedback.

We are constantly reminded how perfect it is that we cater to both carnivores and vegetarians.

We feel that all diners with distinct pallets should enjoy the flavors of our cuisine.

Our patio is very fun in the summer so come out and visit us.

Cheers,

Henry Cerdas, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Food was very good and fairly priced. Friendly staff. But LOUD with el rattling across the street to and fro and music with a heavy back beat. But a fun place. Must have the oatmeal shake and others.
Suggest one sits in the back room.

Thank belturbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry C, Owner at Irazu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for the feedback.

Noisy. Agree. The urban setting of our restaurant and the music that plays in the background add to unique vibe of our establishment. Apologies if it was a decibel too loud.

Nonetheless, come out and visit us in the summer when the patio and BYOB policy make for a perfect chime.

Cheers,

Henry Cerdas, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I went with my wife and her cousin's family when we were visiting Chicago. We have been here before and liked it. My wife's family is from Costa Rica so we like to try the Gallo Pinto when we are in Chicago (and Costa Rica). This place has good, homestyle food- heavy on the rice and beans, just the way my wife likes it. We also got Guanabana batidos (smoothies) which were good- not something we get to drink very often at home. The prices are very reasonable and it is easy to get here from the Blue Line (Damen or Western stops). There is also street parking on Milwaukee Ave. If you like Gallo Pinto and Casados, this is the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry C, Owner at Irazu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for the feedback.

2/2 Costa Ricans enjoy our cuisine. That's great news!. We recognize that our brothers and sisters from Costa Rica are Irazu's harshest critics ( and rightfully so ). We are happy to hear that they enjoy the Casado, the Gallo Pinto, and the Guanabana shakes --- a perfect meal in our Costa Rican setting in Chicago.

Cheers,

Henry Cerdas, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

After seeing this restaurant on diners drive ins and dives finally hit to Chicago to check it out. I have to say not bad at all. Fried green plantain was great with chopped garlic in olive oil and fried pork just as good. Definitely would revisit

Thank Msfong66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry C, Owner at Irazu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for the feedback.

Agree that the Patacones with Mojo and the Chicharron make for a perfect Costa Rican meal in Chicago.

Glad that your travels landed you here in Bucktown, Chicago -- look forward to your next visit.

Henry Cerdas. Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Super nice people and the food was different. Not too often that you get to find Costa Rican food and I very much recommend this place. The shakes are amazing and I recommend the Taco Tico and I love it that it is BYOB. The neighborhood is full of great places and I'm glad they are family owned and not some BIG chain place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GuillermoArauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry C, Owner at Irazu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Unique -- agree. We are Chicago's first and only Costa Rican restaurant.

We pride on serving the distinct flavors of our cuisine to locals and travelers.

Appreciate your feedback. Looking forward to your return.

Cheers,

Henry Cerdas, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irazu also viewed

 

Been to Irazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing