We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Lucky

Club Lucky
Reserve with OpenTable
Club Lucky is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #472 of 9,499 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$19
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Wicker Park / Bucktown
Cross street: Honore St.
Transit: Damen stop on the CTA Blue Line. Clybourn stop on Metra. Buses: 72 North Ave, 9 Ashland Ave, & 50 Damen Ave.
Description: Club Lucky features the hearty pastas, fresh seafood and classic dishes of Southern Italy, and Sicily; not forgetting to mention Chicago classics such as Chicken Vesuvio. Our house specialties range from daily handmade stuffed pastas to perfectly grilled steaks & chops. A mainstay in the Bucktown/Wicker Park area for over 20 years, upon entering you find brick walls, formica tables, and oversized Naugahyde booths that provide a genuine design element to complement “grandmother's recipes” on the Italian menu. All sauces & pastas are made on-site, and each recipe is made with what the Owners call “a little bit of love.” Some of the most sought-after dishes are the Lamb Chops, Antipasti Platters and Spinach Lasagna. Desserts are all housemade as well, with the profiteroles being the most popular. Our atmosphere is casual, the portions are generous and the prices are reasonable. Club Lucky is perfect for a romantic date night or a large gathering of friends and family. Good Food and Fun!
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Great old school Italian.... They make the best fresh bread on the premises. There portions are smaller than I remember from going there years ago but the food is still good.... A little on the pricy side but it's Bucktown!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Italian Joint Still Great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I've been going to Club Lucky for many years and the place is still one of my favorites in Chicago. Not only do they have superior service but the food is outstanding.

The manager Thomas upon our last visit was extremely helpful in accommodating our large party though we had no reservations. We selected many dishes and everything exceeded expectations. Some of the seemingly simple dishes were surprisingly delicious such as, the Club Lucky Salad and pasta squares. Our visiting guests were blown away by the food and hospitality at Club Lucky. Don't leave without trying the profiteroles and tiramisu!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fultonriverandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Flavorful Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

In Chi. on business, my friend suggested Club Lucky. Very friendly service, we sat at the bar for dinner. Fresh bread with olive oil was provided immediately. Caesar salad was well portioned, not overly doused in dressing, fresh anchovies on top. We both had pasta dishes. I had a special which was oversized rigatoni, grilled chicken, sun-dried tomatoes and mushrooms in a light cream sauce. This was excellent and I will soon try to replicate this at home. My friend had baked rigatoni with veal meatballs. I didn't try it but his plate was wiped clean. Generous pours on the mixed drinks too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elmcitystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

This is one of our favorite neighborhood spots. Consistetnly good italian food, good wine, and very friendly staff. Open late, so its a nice spot to grab dessert or a drink.

Helpful?
Thank lavertym
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“can't go wrong with club lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I love this place, every year a group of our close friends hold our annual Holiday Club Lucky dinner and gorge ourselves on their yummy bread, appetizers, and delicious italian food. You cannot go wrong with any of the food here, it is all great. The service is always spot on and the drinks are great too. One of my favorite places to frequent when I am visiting my hometown of Chicago, a must!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juju32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Club Lucky also viewed

 

Been to Club Lucky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing