We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think it closed”
Review of Pane Caldo - CLOSED

Pane Caldo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Michigan
Description: Discreetly located in Chicago's renowned Gold Coast, Pane Caldo presents inspired northern Italian cuisine within an intimate setting.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“I think it closed”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I believe it is closed, and was a good place when it was open, a well-located good Italian restaurant. I tried to book a table last week and no answer

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great food, expensive prices...”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This restaurant was recommended by the concierge at the Drake. The food was excellent but not worth the price and the wines prices are extravagant.
The Drake suggested a reservation and when we arrived at 5, there was only one other couple in the place. The concierge also advised the hostess, we're in town celebrating my wife's birthday. Not a mention or anything from anyone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fire8911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Small local restaurant”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Italian cuisine, pricey, great bread and dip. Great serving staff and all desserts are home made.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Avidtraveler919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good, wonderful experience.”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The food was excellent and fairly priced for the City. All the food is local and service was great. The place is small and not suited for a big crowd but we enjoyed our evening here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
242 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Interesting Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This restaurant was above-average, but not very good. I had the most peculiar take on an antipasto plate I've ever experienced. It was an exciting plate both to look at and eat, but I am not sure all of the taste dynamics worked well together. I did enjoy it and would probably order it again however. My entree was so average in fact that I don't even remember what I ate. The service was good and it was not terribly over-priced. My date enjoyed his meal and their drink selection was great. They also brought me a complimentary desert with candles at the end of the meal--unfortunately I have a diary allergy and could not enjoy the desert, but it is the thought that counts!

Helpful?
Thank Leslie_Venetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing