We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cite

Cite
Reserve with OpenTable
Cite is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #699 of 9,493 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$60 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Streeterville
Cross street: Navy Pier
Transit: Navy Pier Trolley, Grand Avenue Bus 65, State Street 29 Bus
Description: For over 38 years, Cite has stood 70 stories high as a Chicago institution. The ultimate dining experience features savory menu selections, impeccable service, the romantic SkyLounge, private banquet room and breathtaking views of Chicago's skyline and lakefront.
Eagle, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We ate the Cite on the 28th for our 45th anniversary. Although we have been in Chicago many many times, we wanted a different eatery that was not a steak house, yet served decent food. I would say this restaurant definitely out did itself. On the 70th floor just off Navy Pier, it is very small with only 2 rows so every table has a great view of either the city, Lake Michigan or a combo of those in the circular setting. A few tables have you sitting directly above the lower building roof, but you can "look out" for a great view. Personally I liked the city view. Every Sat there are fireworks over Navy Pier and if you don't have that view, you simply get up to walk over to view them. Food: Started with a Seafood sampler ($20 shared) and when my husband saw the tiniest oysters ever he was so disappointed - until he tasted them. Thought they were the best he has ever had. The ceviche was fantastic - so tender and then were the 2 huge prawns. Worth it! The lobster bisque was so rich and excellent ($12) and then I had the most tender duck ever and DH said the lamb was amazing. Ordered a $60ish bottle of wine which was fine. Between the excellent food, serve and unbeatable view, why pay more to sit in a closed-in ground floor restaurant like every other city.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank excitedtogoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cite E, Administrative Assistant at Cite, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Your happy review put a smile on my face. :) Thank you very much, we are so glad that you had a truly fine dining experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    58
    48
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lipstick's Askew on this Faded Lady”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The most impressive thing about this place is the stunning view of the Navy Pier and the Chicago skyline. For some that would be enough and they would rave about a $50 stale peanut butter and grape jelly sandwich served in the aerie.

But . . . if you enjoy truly fine dining in an elegant atmosphere you should head elsewhere. Come and enjoy an adult beverage, then catch a cab to one of the myriad Chicago restaurants that has actually reinvested some of its profits in the last 10 years.

While the hostess and wait staff presented the facade of congeniality, they were largely absent for the most part. Not just inconspicuous, but among the "disaparecidos", the meal took the better part of 3 hours. Their attention to detail was consistent with the overall attention to detail in restaurant - water stained flatware, dried food on the glassware, torn and stained table linens.

The food and presentation was pleasant enough although the quantity was slight, consistent with the dated erstwhile nouvelle cuisine theme. My spring lamb included 3 lamb lollipops - an appetizer serving, not an entree - with a pleasant and flavorful crust with a warm pink center. The smallish chops leaned atop a mound of shredded mutton with spring vegetables around.

As long as one focuses their gaze outwardly to the remarkable view Chicago Cite is lovely. Sunset cocktails will draw your attention away from the odd and attic-like storage of excess tables and chairs, the chipped china and shop worn flatware.

If you are committed to spend a king's ransom on dinner you cane find more modern, elegant and tastier restaurants in Chicago

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbyduhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cite E, Administrative Assistant at Cite, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed the food and the view, as you wrote so eloquently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful location & Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Restaurant Cité at the Top of Lake Point Tower in Chicago.
Stunning panoramic views of the city and the lakefront on a Lake Michigan peninsula, Cité offers diners a 360º view that takes in the skyscrapers and a lakefront spanning over three states!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PucciS_oPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cite E, Administrative Assistant at Cite, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for the kind words! You summed up our restaurant very well :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great chef's tasting menu with excellent views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Sure, you can go to the 95th floor of the Hancock, or the Metropolitan Club in Willis Tower, but my favorite restaurant skyline view comes from Lake Point tower at Cite enjoying some delicious French culinary expertise.
Besides enjoying the sweeping views of our beautiful city, Cite offers delicious French food. I've been here on multiple occasions, but this review will focus on my experience last night.
After honeymooning in French Polynesia, my wife and I were still in the mood for delicious French cuisine. We found a Groupon for Cite and purchased it. Not only did we have great food, but we got a little discount along with it.
We enjoyed the chef's tasting menu. It was nice to have some smaller portions outlining a variety of different French food. We did not have escargot this time, but that is usually a favorite of ours. Brian, our waiter, was very talkative and gave us excellent service, and noted that we were trying to keep our honeymoon going, so he got a couple glasses of champagne to keep the celebration going. It was a great night! We definitely left full despite the smaller plates (there were many!). My suggestion, do not fill up on bread (super obvious, I know).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cite E, Administrative Assistant at Cite, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Brian, your words are so kind! We hope you enjoyed your extended honeymoon and please come back to Cite anytime. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Easter Brunch with a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked Cite for Easter brunch, and were not disappointed. We enjoyed a birds-eye view of the city, which was great for our two teenagers who had never been to Chicago. The brunch was fabulous, with great variety, elegantly prepared. Only complaint, which really can't be helped, is that the dimensions of the restaurant made passage through the buffet tables and dining tables a bit tricky. I would recommend for a special occasion.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cite E, Administrative Assistant at Cite, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your comment, Happy Traveler! We are very glad that you enjoyed our brunch. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing