We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average plus dinner”
Review of Wave - CLOSED

Wave
Price range: US$18 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Streeterville
Cross street: Ontario
Description: Located at W Chicago at Lakeshore, WAVE combines the luster of a sleek urban atmosphere with the finesse of a restaurant grounded in culinary exploration. Executive Chef Greg Elliott showcases seasonal farm to table cuisine with Italian and French influences. With its bold flavors and stunning backdrop (Lake Michigan and Navy Pier are just steps away), it is no surprise that WAVE is a go-to for both locals and travelers alike.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Average plus dinner”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Super professional wait staff, Wave markets farm to table menu which we like. Fish were farm raised, small servings and we felt overpriced, so we were not too impressed on that count. Breakfast was nice with fresh berries and salmon. After two meals here, we opted for other neighborhood options and did just fine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LIbbewdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
214 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very cool!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Looks like a part of lobby hall so that you might easily pass by...and in fact I did..
A bar outside, where you can enjoy waiting and drinking, is normally so crowded.
But inside the restaurant, it is a different world, more spacy, relaxed, sitting on a long chairs at a table for 6. We had a very nice dinner, as recommended by a staff, choosing Fixed price dinner with a lot of varieties. You could mixed with something else like gnocchi not on the list....Entree such as soup, salad (asparagus was so nice), main such as salmon (excellent choice!), chicken and dessert such as hot chocolate cake (yummy) or cheese cake...
You should definately go there with your family, friends, colleagues or whatever! when you go to Chicago. You've got a great view across the lake and the excellent services.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yasu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great breakfast by pricey”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Ate breakfast there every day during our stay. Very good but not cheap. Typical of a higher end hotel. Was going to have dinner there once but hated the limited dinner menu.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overlooked gem”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This place needs to get the word out there and stop hiding in the W Hotel. Service was excellent. Staff was super friendly but not over bearing. Food was superb. I had the ribeye and it was right up there with many steakhouses I have visited, especially in Chicago where steak is king. Can't say anything about dessert as we skipped due to being full but I can say that after dinner we moved to the bar where once agin staff went out of their way. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinduoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good way to start your day with their breakfast”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

You have choices of buffet or order from the menu. Had the waffle one day and congee the next....talk about variety.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing