We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mama Gump would approve!”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Company
Ranked #196 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Streeterville
Niles, MI
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mama Gump would approve!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our first visit to Bubba Gump's and the whole family was impressed! We have a couple of people in our family that don't eat seafood, and they were still wowed with the ribs they ordered! Our server was funny and efficient and quizzed us on all things Gump. Cocktails were delish too! Great way to end a day on Navy Pier!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SarahBNiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    385
    247
    71
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful disappointing yucky food”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We had high hopes, but they quickly faded. We waited over hour for food.. The manager said their printer in the kitchen broke. Ok- but not sure how that affected the yucky food taste. Not one person in our party was happy with their food. The fish in the fish in the fish and chips dish was in edible .
The only thing thing that was liked was one of the kids had a
Smoothy.
It was just nasty !

Helpful?
Thank DLJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“BG on the Navy Pier!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

For anyone who's been to a BG, the Navy Pier location brings a different experience to it. If weather permits, eat outside as you miss the true NP experience sitting inside! Food was excellent and the service was great with a personality! Very intertaining and very personable!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great experience, and good food too!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Bubba Gump's is a favourite of mine, I love their food and the whole "experience" of it. The restaurant is themed after the Forrest Gump movie. You are given a sign on your table that reads "run Forrest run", and if you need anything from your waiter/waitress, you flip your sign over to read "stop Forrest stop", at which point any nearby staff will immediately stop and assist you.

After ordering your food, the waiter usually comes around and has a trivia session with your table, so you'll want to brush up on your Forrest Gump before your meal!

The menu is varied and obviously contains a lot of seafood. I highly recommend "Jenny's Catch of the Day" and can honestly say that it's one of the best meals I've ever had. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callmekatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent food...WAAAY overpriced!!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Our family came here when we were at the pier & chose this last minute...I had the Jenny's tilapia(it was a gump fav) I really enjoyed this...however nobody else cared for their food...they said over priced fried food...we got the bill for 4 of us & 1 was eating off the kids meal & all only drank water, and with tax and tip it was over $70. WAAAAAY OVERPRICED!

Helpful?
Thank SWATWIFEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Company also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing