We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, but.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merlo Ristorante - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Merlo Ristorante
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Lincoln Park
Cross street: Wrightwood
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious, but.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Pasta is excellent. Average calamari is overpriced at $9. Unspectacular wines are pricey. Gelato is superb.

We were less than happy with the restaurant's attitude. We dined early (5:30) on a weeknight to catch a 7:30 theater curtain. Business was slow, with most tables empty. We were well dressed but we are a couple in our 60s, which apparently was a problem. We asked for an empty window table, which seats four, and were told it had to be held open in case a larger party needed seating. Fair enough. But when a sexy young woman in a slinky dress arrived with her partner, they were placed in the window without asking for that table.

We got the message.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BuceriasBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dinner before MDQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Went here last night for dinner with another couple. We had ordered the beef tenderloin, red snapper, cornish hen and lamb shank. The pasta that we ordered was ver good as were the main plates. Our drinks were excellent also. They have a very nice wine menu. Great ambiance. Service was good. Our waiter, Scott, was nice and very attentive. A little pricey. We plan on returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We ate dinner at Merlo before seeing the Million Dollar Quartet at the Apollo. Our dinner was absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sailingtheworld2gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We had dinner here last night and loved it. The Osso bucco was wonderful. Wonderful homemade pasta. Would return again.

Helpful?
Thank RagtopGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic italian place in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Authentic italian place in Chicago.
Superb hand made pasta.
Thursday wine by the bottle 50% off.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing