We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neighborhood Gem Worthy of Rockstar Rating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Filippo's Ristorante - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Filippo's Ristorante
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Lincoln Park
Cross street: Webster
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem Worthy of Rockstar Rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Regular menu interesting, but special were superb. Had a "Pre Fixe" type menu, and shared grilled calamari appetizer, plus shared roasted beet/goat cheese salad filled us up before the main courses came.Date had salmon and I had short ribs. . .superb, but finished only half and had dessert to go. Had a great Montepulciano. Staff superb and super knowledgeable. First visit, but planning our next as we left this fine restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Chicago!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The BEST italian restaurant in Chicago!! An appetizer of grilled octopus, grilled calamari, and grilled shrimp was simply delicious. Pumpkin gnocchi with a tomato and basil sauce were a dream - soft and airy, every morsel a delight. Fettucini with assorted mushrooms was an amazing blend of flavors. Generous portions, food served precisely al dente, friendly service, no noisy music, a not too expensive very nice bottle of Dolcetto d'Alba, recommended by our knowledgeable waiter. A great dinner. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The BEST Bolognese anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Looked for an Italian restaurant near Steppenwolf Theater, (this is NOT near it at all) and ran across Filippo's reviews and decided to try it. The food was spectacular, not an ounce shy of spectacular!

The bread served has a tomato sauce on it. We could have simply noshed on that for hours.
Fettuccine Bolognese at $15.95 was the most amazing Bolognese we'd ever tasted! The sauce was spectacular. The Rotolo Primavera is a flat round wheel of pasta stuffed with ricotta, spinach and prosciutto, served in a light pink sauce ($14.95) is so rich we couldn't eat it all. It is absolutely delicious but extremely rich! YUM! We were so full that we had to decline the tantalizing dessert menu, no matter how much we wanted to try something.

We wish we lived nearer to Chicago so that we could go back to this amazing little jewel of a restaurant.

The only thing we can figure out about naysayer reviewers is that either the restaurant had a really bad night or the reviewers must work at a competing establishment because we were completely blown away by the quality of food served at Filippo's!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank purpose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Unfortunately this place came highly recomended to us but boy was it a let down. While the staff was incredibly friendly the food was pretty dissapointing. A lot of packaged pasta in a ho-hum red sauce. I ordered the squid ink pasta and it was just sub-par. Friends ordered the lasagna and it was a giant brick of noodles and ricotta swimming in a pool of gravy. Maybe coming from Boston I'm spoiled when it comes to really good Italian but regardless this place did nothing for me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hollygolightley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
346 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Returned to Filippo's with friends on the Friday after Thanksgiving
all 6 agreed that the place and food were wonderful
excellent service
all pasta dishes were substantial
I had the grilled seafood again and it was perfect
will be back next trip to Chicago
RESERVATIONS ARE A MUST
the place was filled shortly after 6pm

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LARRYOTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Filippo's Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing