We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ribs”
Review of Gale Street Inn

Gale Street Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Gale Street Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #352 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Northwest Side
England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing ribs”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My dad has been going to this place for about 30 years, from when he used to work at O'Hare. We were very happy to see that not only was it still up and running that the ribs were every bit as amazing as we had remembered from the last time we visited 8-10 years ago. Keep it up and we're looking forward to another visit this November!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonGoWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    38
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Usakos, Namibia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice lunch”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Dropped in for a Friday lunch. I had the half rack or ribs my spouse had the jambalaya. The jambalaya was good and had a nice spice to it. I tried it. We both worked around the shrimp as we don't like shrimp but tried a few. My ribs were good. Not "best in the city good" as the menu declared. But the meat was really tender and the half rack filled me up but nothing I'd go out of my way for. The ribs I had at a national chain earlier in the week were better. However the service was good. The menu features a nice variety and the decor of the place as very inviting. We'd definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClutchIsEverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Large party - GREAT service!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Attended a family dinner here - 12 of us - we had reservation and did have a short wait for a table. Well worth the wait! The food was delicious and the service outstanding! Ordered the prime rib, waiter apologetically informed me they had run out after he put my order in. Went with the petite filet - it was divine - a little charred on the outside and rare on the inside - just how I like it! All in all, I would highly recommend this restaurant - especially if you like beer and ribs. They do have salmon which I heard was good too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MagsATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous ribs”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The ribs are wonderful and our entire dinner there was great...so good we went back the following evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retiredandhappy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstville
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good ribs but steak went back three times”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The ribs here are outstanding! We had fantastic service from our waitress, even though it was an extremely busy night. However, one non fussy guest had to reluctantly send her steak back twice. On the third try, it still wasn't eatable, but she was too embarrassed to send it again. The owner came over and apologized to our party of 10, but in reality, he should've taken it off our bill. I would return here for the ribs, their specialty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gale Street Inn also viewed

 

Been to Gale Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing