We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dim Sum”

The Phoenix Restaurant
Ranked #706 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$0 - US$28
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
749 reviews
620 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Excellent Dim Sum”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have been to this restaurant may times although I don't live in Chicago. I have had dim sum since I was a kid and that is over 50 years of dim sum eating. For a dim sum place outside of San Francisco and New York, Phoenix is about as good as any place. The service is standard, the staff seems to care. The place is typical Chinese with a very large Chinese clientele, a good sign. There is a pay parking lot near by. There will be some wait on a weekend but not bad. I have reviewed this restaurant once before and it is just as good now. The choice of dim sum is good. I have not done off the dinner menu so this review is only about dim sum. I rank it very highly. You will get a good idea of the genre when you run through a selection of dim sum at Phoenix. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kawidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    74
    24
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“RIP OFF!!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Being Chinese and an avid fan of dim sum we were happy to read good reviews on the Phoenix on here and yelp!
Boy was it disappointing. We have literally just finished lunch and it's so bad that I felt the need to stop others from being ripped off.

The restaurant is dirty, with really old chinaware. Disposable chopsticks, no spoons or bowls( my thought was they wash less to save some money?) all chinese restaurants give spoons and bowls it's a necessity. The service was pretty much none exsitant, with 5 waiters standing round chatting and no people coming round with food carts. When they did they just went to one side of the room unless you flagged them down. The selection of food was poor very poor, didn't even have basics like har gau or siu Mai, the food we did have was okay. But due to small selection we had to double up on some food. After eating 9 dishes and tea it was a little over $40!! Plus tip!! We were in San Francisco and had the same amount of food with a variety of dishes and paid $20
I would not recommend this place at all, stay away unless you have money to burn and want to be disappointed

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brainless69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
200 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Dim Sum with Friends”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Met friends for dim sum in Chicago's Chinatown on a Saturday morning around 10:30 for a party of nine. We beat the rush that by the time we left around noon had a long waiting line. We sampled a combination of classical dim sum items although my nephew was disappointed when we passed on the chicken feet all served with tea. The servers are very friendly although here were some ebb and flows to the delivery of the food. Enjoyed our visit and something different.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Westpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dim Sum - First time for my husband”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My son (9) loves China town. This is one of our favorite places to eat. I took my husband and we ordered 5 dishes octopus, ribs, potstickers, white rice, spring rolls, and dumplings. I am not sure on the correct names. It was the cheapest meal that we had in Chicago and it was good. We saw a huge group that ordered off the menu and the had duck and a ton of other dishes that looked amazing. Next time we are going to try ordering off the menu.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SBHARTE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

During my 5-day stay in Chicago, I went to two dim sum restaurants. Phoenix is certainly much better than MingHin. I like to pick what I like to eat from a cart, not from a picture. Though the service could be robotic sometimes, it is kind of what dim sum servers can offer in Hong Kong, too- efficient but less friendly. Nevertheless, I will definitely go back in the future.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank yipaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Phoenix Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Phoenix Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing