We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great architecture”

Jay Pritzker Pavilion
Book In Advance
More Info
US$124.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago...
Ranked #7 of 179 Concerts & Shows in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
852 reviews
587 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Great architecture”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Next visit to chicago?, definitely in the summer so that I can enjoy the sound of the concert from this podium

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Solodam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    76
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a treasure of auditory pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The music draws you, there is no other way of avoiding it. We sat for about an hour just to appreciate the music and what a beautiful sound, even though it was a rehearsal. The space is awesome. In my many travel journeys, this was the most memorable free music in the park I had the pleasure of attending! And it is free! I will go tomorrow for their even at 6:30 and hear most of them are free

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kbiscuitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,007 reviews
567 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,179 helpful votes
“Home to the Grant Park Music Festival and other free concerts and events”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I stopped here while walking through Millennium Park. Jay Pritzker Pavilion, also known as Pritzker Pavilion or Pritzker Music Pavilion, is a band shell in Millennium Park in the Loop community area. The Pavilion is located on the south side of Randolph Street and east of the Chicago Landmark Historic Michigan Boulevard District. The pavilion was named after Jay Pritzker, whose family is known for owning Hyatt Hotels.

Pritzker Pavilion serves as the centerpiece for Millennium Park and is the new home of the Grant Park Symphony Orchestra and Chorus and the Grant Park Music Festival, the nation's only remaining free outdoor classical music series.

The Pavilion stands 120-feet high. The concerts are usually 2.5 hours long and the acoustics are breath taking. The Jay Pritzker Pavilion has a state-of-the-art sound system, the first of its kind in the country, was designed to mimic the acoustics of an indoor concert hall by distributing enhanced sound equally over both the fixed seats and the lawn.

Get there early as it fills up quickly during concerts. The Pavilion has a capacity of 11,000.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vandergrift, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Music and a snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stopped off at a bakery and picked up sandwiches and treats. Stopped at lunchtime to listen to them practice for the concert later that night. An entertaining lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LDtravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

There are not a lot of free attractions in USA. This is one of them. The building is spectacular.
In summer there are free classical music concerts almost every day.
Perfect place for a picnic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank frosklis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jay Pritzker Pavilion also viewed

 

Been to Jay Pritzker Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing