We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Frank Gehry architecture!”

Jay Pritzker Pavilion
Book In Advance
More Info
US$124.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago...
Ranked #7 of 179 Concerts & Shows in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love Frank Gehry architecture!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The grounds are clean and in the warm weather it's nice to be able to sit on grass with a beautiful view and eat lunch or drink a coffee!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlackCat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    76
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing Acoustics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I happened into a symphony rehearsal. It's great that anyone can attend rehearsals for free. The sound in the seats and out on the lawn was just incredible. Seeing an actual performance there is now on my list of things to do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank worldfamousjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Jazz legend tribute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Attended a NRG concert remembering the life of Hal Russell, jazz musician. The venue, the performance, everything was wonderful. This is a place not to be missed. Seated or on the lawn this affords a most memorable time. Concert are offered days and evenings.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hungry_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great music!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I'm glad our travel dates coincided with the Grant Park Music Festival. We had many opportunities to hear some great (FREE!) music. It was easy to find, and while there were many, many people in attendance, there were plenty of places to be able to see and hear the concert. It was a little chilly the night we were there, I guess I wasn't expecting that in Chicago in July, so we headed back to our hotel earlier than we planned.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AllesonWonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“world class classical music culture gratis at Grant Park Music Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

What's great about this free al fresco music festival in the most architecturally stunning of surroundings, Frank Gehry's bandshell and lawn, is the fresh and original programming. Just this past week I heard a great variety of contemporary classical music by famous and not-so-famous composers that dazzled in its own unique ways. The performance of Shostakovitch's The Execution of Stepan Razin with Leonard Slatkin at the helm of the Grant Park Chorus and Orchestra was particularly thrilling. This is not a series of summer pops concerts but serious, adventurous music. You cannot beat the value of this summer cultural experience anywhere in the US or Europe.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank xeraluji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jay Pritzker Pavilion also viewed

 

Been to Jay Pritzker Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing