We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Hyde Park...finally!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center
Ranked #24 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Place in Hyde Park...finally!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

With a child at UChicago we have had a tough time finding a reasonable (price/proximity/comfort) place to stay when visiting. We have stayed at the Hyatt downtown and it was too pricey and too far away. We have stayed at the University (International House) and it was convenient and cheap, but noisy and uncomfortable. We have stayed at a really nice B&B but it was a little more than we wanted to spend, and we have stayed at The Ramada on Lake Shore several times and it was pretty seedy and rundown and hasn't gotten any better. So, we were SO VERY HAPPY to see this hotel open. It is WONDERFUL!!!! The staff is really great and quite accommodating. It is modern, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and a welcome surprise. The room was large and had a great seating area that we used often. There was even a comfy throw and pillows to curl up with for reading or TV watching. And, there was complimentary shuttle to the campus.
The only complaint was that our room on the 3rd floor looked out onto a huge utility pole -so we kept our shade down the whole time. It also overlooked a side street and at least 3 times in the VERY wee hours (5:30am-ish) we were awakened by garbage trucks emptying dumpsters. This only happened Monday morning. See tip below for rooms to avoid.
Their tag line is something like - "what Hyde Park has been waiting for"....and I think they are right.
Now I am looking forward to my next trip to Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room that looks out onto the courtyard street and not the local side street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    177
    36
    12
    4
See reviews for
314
53
29
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Socorro, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel just off 53d street, unexpected gem. Clean, bright, super friendly staff, and comfortable rooms, lobby, and hall. And superb breakfast bar. What more might one want? The only thing missing is parking. Only valet parking available (no street parking either) so be sure to budget another $32 if you drive. Everything else more than reasonable however, eg free wifi and bkfast.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank efrMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson, az
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Having made nearly annual trips to the University of Chicago for decades, I couldn't understand why the only hotel in the vicinity was a run-down mess. Finally, this facility has solved the problem. With clean modern rooms, an excellent front-desk staff, an upscale complimentary breakfast and a very good fast food dispensary 24-hours a day, I have found the place to stay on future visits. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylouTucson_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Place from Nov. 9-13. Rooms are attractive, beds comfortable, breakfast excellent, and staff amazingly friendly and helpful. A few plumbing problems (not unexpected in a new hotel) were resolved easily. We will stay at the hotel whenever we come to Chicago to visit our grandsons and their parents. Jan

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Only 2 months old, the Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University is a much needed, quality hotel in Hyde Park. Just north of UofChicago campus. Across the street from movie theater and within walking distance of 24 hr diner. Exceptional breakfast comes w/ room (spinach, mushroom cheese melt on croissant, bagels w/ cream cheese, tomato and cheese melt on croissant, fresh coffee, etc.) Well-stocked snack bar open long hours in main lobby. Lots of connectivity. Super-small pool (but at least it has one!) and minimal work-out center (treadmill, weights, elliptical). Rooms super quiet and nicely decorated. Great staff. Will definitely stay here when I visit UofC.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Have stayed here on 3 separate trips October 2013 thru November 2013. The first time I stayed for a week and have made 2 overnight trips since... so obviously I think it's a nice place to stay.
This location is fabulous if you're visiting the University of Chicago. There is also a movie theater across the street and plenty of places to shop and eat within walking distance.

The hotel is new so the rooms are new, with fresh decor and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and professional. Ashley, Chennete (sp?) & Kevin - to name a few - are all standout staff. They offer Free Wi-Fi with good speeds & connectivity; TVs are new and allow for connecting a computing device. Breakfast is good although they seem to offer vegetarian options of the breakfast sandwich but only the egg-cheese-ham version on the weekends.

The first time I stayed the hotel had only been open a few weeks so they were still working out the kinks - no bathmat in the bathroom, employees unfamiliar with a few policies - however I visited last weekend and things were running much smoother. (On my last stay I found a few long hairs in the shower and a Skittle on the carpet so I'm marking the cleanliness as average.)

I plan to stay here again when I'm in Chicago and feel comfortable recommending it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
259 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early November 2013. Got extremely good deal because of autumn sale, so daily rate was just over 100 USD. Upon arrival (4pm) had some problems getting a room, but after short wait (5min), receptionist managed to find clean king bed room on 5th floor. Room very roomy, with sofa and desk, clean and without any good view. Internet free and very fast. Shower has a bit weak pressure, but this is intentional and because of eco-shower-head. Breakfast with very poor choices. Rooms really should have safe deposit boxes. Used Metra trains to get into the city, as station is only 3 minutes walk away and ride 3 USD pp.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center

Property: Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center
Address: 5225 S Harper Ave, Chicago, IL 60615-4113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing