We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center
Ranked #29 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here over the U of Chicago's reunion weekend and loved it. It is the perfect product for Hyde Park and the University: clean, efficient, spacious, safe and with great service. The bed was very comfortable, the layout of the room with a sitting area was great, the bathroom was a really good size and the breakfasts were delicious - not tons of food, but what there was, was delicious. And they provided a variety of food each day. One suggestion would be a clothes line across the bathtub, but that would be it. I will definitely stay here every time I am in Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently stayed here while attending my daughter's graduation from the University of Chicago and found it to be quite nice. The room was large with a very comfortable bed as well as a sitting area. There was a very nice shower, although I was disappointed not to find a tub (my treat when travelling). The complimentary breakfast has lots of choices ranging from eggs/sausage/heavy breakfast to fruit/yogurt/cereal/light breakfast. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice. There is an indoor pool which is a nice extra. This hotel is a great addition to Hyde Park where previous options were quite limited/sketchy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soozeeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for one night visiting family in Hyde Park. The hotel is quite new and they seem to still be ironing the kinks out. Valet service was spotty. However, the bed was fabulous, the room was large and comfortable, and we were given a quiet corner room. The complimentary breakfast included yogurt and granola as well as fresh fruit. It was mighty expensive for a hotel on the somewhat gritty side of Hyde Park, though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sk8lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

...but no way to know as we were bumped. I made a reservation on September 15th for a June 13th arrival. Made the reservation through the Hyatt website, not a third party. Arrived at the hotel in the early afternoon and told that they had oversold and we could not have a room. We were "transferred" to another Hyatt several miles away.

To their credit they comped the room at the other Hyatt. But this has totally ruined our visit for our daughter's graduation from the University of Chicago and has led to enormous hassle in helping her move out of her dorm.

How they could oversell a hotel on what has to be one of the busiest days of the year is totally beyond me. I don't know what else I could have done. I made a reservation 9 months in advance. I used the hotel website. Don't think I had a discount rate. Was not a late arrival. I am a Gold Passport member but not elite. Guess that would have helped.

So this is probably a nice place and is conveniently located to UChicago and Hyde Park. But overselling the hotel on a day they are certain to have everyone show up (graduation) is inexcusable. One star.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Caminotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Hyatt Place. It is a welcome addition to Hyde Park for those visiting the University of Chicago! The hotel was very comfortable and is convenient to many shops and restaurants. It's also easy to walk to the lakefront, where there are running and biking trails. There is free wifi, and the free breakfast buffet is quite good. Valet parking is pretty pricey, but we were always able to find street parking a few blocks away. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I recent stayed at the Hyatt place for the third time for a business trip. The location is great, walking distance from many restaurants, shopping, a gym, yoga studio and about 100 feet from Starbucks. The hotel is new, clean and the staff very accommodating. This is a wonderful hotel, I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusnessTravler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights early this year. We were visiting the U of Chicago Medical campus. My mother had cancer at the time and even though she was uncomfortable due to the pain and discomfort she was going through and the few hours of flying, once we got to this hotel, it was an oasis in the middle of a desert, that is how comfortable this place was.The rooms were excellent, full fridge, flat screen TV, big comfortable bathrooms, great beds and an accommodating sitting area. I can't say enough about the staff in this hotel. The staff was superb, outstanding customer service. There was a hot breakfast buffet every morning which it was great and they have a nice bar and sort of restaurant with great sandwiches and soups among other things. They provide free shuttle service to/from the hotel to the U of Chicago. Convenient location closed to restaurants and train station. Overall, awesome property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preventer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 192 in Chicago
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center

Address: 5225 S Harper Ave, Chicago, IL 60615-4113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £99 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing