We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Cafe at the Ritz Carlton
Ranked #978 of 9,658 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$31 - US$80
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Michigan Avenue
Transit: CTA Bus Stops: 151,145,146,147 Close to Chicago Red Line Stop Cabs Plentiful
New York City, New York, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Overall a wonderful time. Attentive staff in a great setting. Very good food and you can relax and have a drink or two. Waiters will not rush you out. Highly Recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edmund P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great view (both inside and out)”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Exceptional service (as to be expected at the Ritz) with a decent wine menu and food options. Met some friends from out of town here. It's quiet enough to have a good conversation but not too quiet. Good view of the lobby/centerpiece fountain. There's also an outdoor area overlooking parts of Chicago.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We ate lunch at Deca earlier this year, during Chicago Restaurant week: It was great for the price, and the service was super friendly and helpful. The food is above average for such a restaurant in Chicago, and the setting is beautiful. It is a good place to go to lunch and feel pampered, if you're shopping in the neighborhood. The second time we came, we sat outside in the cafe, where we had a very nice salad and again the super-friendly staff. It's very quiet, classy, clean, at least at the time of day we were there. This is now my go-to place for a break from the bustle of Michigan Avenue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goanywherefast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Ordinary options without exceptional skill in the kitchen. Presentation is prized over flavor.
Only had one meal there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tess57seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast (not Deca)”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I decided a good breakfast in the lobby area was the right choice since we were checking out that day. As with most Ritz restaurant's expect to pay...but usually the food is well worth it.

My husband ordered the omelet and I ordered the Belgium waffle. We decided to share and get the best of both worlds. The food was good however, you can get the exact same waffle at the mall atrium attached to the Ritz something like 20% of the cost. This is not the "Ritz" breakfast experience.

We were satisfied overall but the biggest complaint we had was the waiter. He just wasn't friendly. He was borderline curt. Having stayed at several "Ritz" in the past I was shocked. His assistants were nice though. This restaurant/hotel is operated by the Four Seasons and bought this particular Ritz. This is something different than the regular Ritz Carlton and the service shows. Our bill was $52 plus the $8 or so tip we left.

Like I said, the food was good and we received everything we requested but poor value and the waiter was not friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missmedia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cafe at the Ritz Carlton also viewed

 

Been to The Cafe at the Ritz Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing