We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peruvian Food Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanta

Tanta
Reserve with OpenTable
Tanta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peruvian Food Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have had Peruvian food before, it is a delicious and sometimes exciting cuisine. Tanta stand with the best and the crowd there must agree. Different appetizers, ceviches, street foods and dinners are offered all really well prepared with their wonderful sauces. Great wines too. It's a must share kind of experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kreutzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    119
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing peruvian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Loved dining at Tanta. The food was amazing, it felt like we were having dinner in Perú.
Everything was perfectly cooked and presented and they have very attentive personnel.
We shared so we almost tried the whole menu.. everything was delicious!
If you're a peruvian food fan, this place is a must.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danaszlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

loved the experience of dining here. There was a good vibe since I entered and the food was amazing in presentation and taste. Seems like they'll have an open area soon for the summer. I can't wait to go back to Chicago for the summer and go back to Tanta for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Cristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Festive and Delicious Peruvian Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our party of four really enjoyed a dinner last night of mainly small plates (we'll be back for the larger ones!) and lots of Piso drinks and crisp french white wine.
Service was friendly and efficient from the initial greeting to the tableside. Great scene and energy in the room.
We enjoyed 2 ceviches: the fluke, red onions, cilantro and fluke, peanuts, wonton, ginger, sesame- both were unique, fun to share and very fresh tasting.
They have something called Causitas- which are whipped peruvian potatos and aji (read YUM), the one we ordered was topped with crab, avocado, tomato, egg, huancaina. Very rich and delicious.
We ordered one of their versions of Niguiris (combo japanese/perunvian style) steak, quail egg, chalaca, ponzu -- was decadence over the top in velvety texture and flavour.
Recommended this place for a group or gals night or couples- You could also sit at the bar and feel like you are in Peru for a brief vacation!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Generous Small Plates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The ceviche is excellent and a little bit different than the usually fine chopped versions served at many places. The chicken skewers with sweet potatoes were a delightful change. My husband liked the moist texture of the empanadas. The pricing for small plates given their size was a good value. The waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pcsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing