We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chicago Classic”
Review of The Cape Cod Room

The Cape Cod Room
Ranked #653 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$75
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Michigan Avenue & Lakeshore Drive
Transit: CTA Train - Red line, Chicago stop CTA buses 145, 146, 147, 151
Description: The Cape Cod, a much honored seafood restaurant, boasts of fresh seafood from the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans, from the lakes and freshwater streams. It has been consistently named as one of America's finest dining spots since opening in 1933. Zagat's consumer survey also picked the Cape Cod as a top hotel restaurant. It was recently inducted by Nation's Restaurant News into the Fine Dining Hall of Fame. Located on the arcade level, the cozy restaurant, established in 1933 is decked with nautical paraphernalia. Nautical themed, wooden beams, hanging copper pots and stuffed sailfish adorn the room, walls and ceiling of this immensely popular restaurant. Reservations are very strongly recommended.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
628 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A Chicago Classic”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I dined at the Cape Cod Room recently as one of our "date night" adventures. It was a first time for me, and my wife has dined here a few times in her life with fond memories. We arrived around 8:30pm on a Saturday night, and were seated promptly despite not having a reservation. The room was fairly full, but after the peak dinner period.

Our waiter John (or Captain John as he is called) was very gracious and professional. He has been working here for 34 years and obviously loves his work. We ordered martinis to shake off the cold, and he let us enjoy them for 10 minutes without rushing us to place our dinner order (love this!).

We were having a special night out, so we went with classics: oysters on half shell, wedge salad, Bookbinder soup, and Dover Sole & Lobster Thermidor for entrees. A nice bottle of Muscadet went well with everything (seafood friendly!) and service was very smooth. The dishes were all excellent quality, especially the Bookbinder soup and entrees. The Dover Sole was presented table side, and we had the option of getting the roe along with the main part of the fish. If you are an "adventurous" eater, I recommend this option...otherwise, they trim it and take it away with the serving plate.

There are certain classic restaurants in big cities, and for Chicago this is the best classic seafood restaurant. Please keep it on your radar and don't let it disappear!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    62
    34
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I dined here on our anniversary. We desired a seafood restaurant, and The Cape Cod Room, in The Drake Hotel, is certainly that. From the moment you enter you feel like you could be in a seashore restaurant. The decor and atmosphere is perfect. Until you leave, you forget that you are in a hotel. The service was excellent.

The menu features many vintage dishes that are not often featured today. The Bookbinder soup
was created for the restaurant in 1933, and was delicious. My wife had the Maine Lobster Thermidor, and I had the Crispy Halibut Saltimbocca.

Well worth the visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjoek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas in Chicago Done Right”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

A wonderful way to celebrate an early Christmas. Overall, it was a great meal. For the most part the meals were excellent, especially if one stuck to their seafood specialties. Among the better choices were the clam chowder and bookbinder soups on the appetizers. As for entrees, the Ahi poivre was great as was the lobster Thermidor. They have a great Mac and cheese side dish. The beef filet, on the other hand, was pretty tough and the crab cakes pretty average. While we enjoy leisurely dinners, this one stretched for three hours and may have gone longer had we not pushed them a bit. Rubin was a great waiter but we got the idea that the kitchen was slammed. The restaurant is a classic Chicago institution and was just beautiful for the holidays. While expensive for the value received, it was a memorable evening.

Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gracious dining”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We dined at The Cape Cod Room in The Drake Hotel on North Michigan Av in Chicago after a busy afternoon of shopping and hiking up and down the Magnificent Mile to enjoy the holiday lights and excitement. The atmosphere of the restaurant was warm and inviting; the staff was pleasant, attentive but not hovering. The food was really delicious, pleasant portions, and beautifully presented. The wine list was varied and affordable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poseypower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“"Must go" Sea Food restaurant when in Chicago”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were given by a local two "must go" restaurants to go to whilst visiting Chicago to get a flavour of the city - The Signature Room on the 95th Floor of the Hancock building and the Cape Cod Room. The "Signature" is a contemporary restaurant with fabulous views of the City (see my review) and the Cap Cod Room offered the flip side, showing the traditional Chicago where you could still imagine Al Capone coming in together with the film stars of the mid 20th Century. The maitre d' will enjoy telling you about some of its history if you ask him. The two restaurants do share the high price but we did not feel it was overpriced for what it was.

The waiters have the air of having been serving in the restaurant since boys and for us were very friendly, attentive and efficient though we see others have had different experiences. The sea food was very, very good. I had some of the best Oysters I had in my 2 week stay in the States and the lobster main course was excellent. Our party of 5 all had an enjoyable dinner and whilst it is not cheap, we all felt it was value for money.

Although it is at the same address as the famous old institution, The Drake Hotel (do pop in to see it before dinner), it is in fact reached by a separate entrance below the hotel. From beside the Hotel Entrance you take a long winding shopping mall corridor at the end of which is the restaurant entrance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cape Cod Room also viewed

 

Been to The Cape Cod Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing