We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trifecta: location, style and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trifecta: location, style and value”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Spent the weekend at the Thompson for my best friend's birthday. Having spent time at hotels like the Ritz, Peninsula and Trump, I would choose this hotel over those in a heartbeat. The location was convenient, the room was clean and stylish, the staff was very helpful and the price was very reasonable given the level of the hotel. It might not be for kids but if you're looking to getaway in Chicago, The Thompson Hotel is your spot!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,613
    342
    56
    17
    8
See reviews for
356
845
77
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel was very chic & trendy with a superb staff!!! This hotel is perfect for those on the go. It is centrally located to restaurants and shopping! We parked our car and was able to walk to many places. We had lunch at Lou Malnati's Pizzeria which was only a 2 min walk. Their deep dish pizza was AMAZING! After stuffing our faces it was a short but well needed walk to Sprinkles cupcake to use their techie cupcake 'ATM' vending machine. Chocolate cupcake in hand we were off to shop on the well known Magnificent Mile that boasts an impressive resume of high end stores! After a little retail therapy we strolled through the snow to seek warmth. We stumbled across Starbucks which was the perfect marriage for my chocolate Sprinkles cupcake! The bonus was that it was less than a min walk from the hotel's door! PERFECT!

I must confess that the parking was expensive but being able to park and walk around helped a lot. Valet was $58/night but it has unlimited in & out privileges. As an alternative there is a parking garage right across the street for $28 but I imagine there are no in & out privileges.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travacayriously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great new Thompson Chicago. Killer location close to everything. Fantastic friendly staff and super comfy rooms. Beds, pillows and high end sheets. Great bathroom, huge rain head showers, great make up lighting, Very comfortable room.. Vibe is cool. Lobby is modern and comfortable and Nico restaurant and bar are a real plus. Would stay here again, and again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Thompson Hotel has been totally remodeled. They did a beautiful job upgrading the entire hotel. I've stayed at this hotel each month consistently over the past 6 years for business. My personal trips take me all over the world and I've found the Thompson staff is the friendliest of all!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed overnight for a business meeting...What a pleasant experience from start to finish! The hotel's attention to detail is impreccable...Every person I encountered was so professional, warm and welcoming. I am a local and would definitely do a "staycation" at the Thompson Hotel as well as return to the bar and restaurant at Nico!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SGonz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I live in the suburbs of Chicago and consider myself a 'Hotel Brat' -- I like the best of the best. I always stay downtown for my birthday and decided to give this place a try because its 'new'. The staff were extremely accommodating and even after saying the complimentary car service wasn't available at the time I needed, they called our room 15 minutes later and got it figured out. The cupcakes in our room when we got home were amazing as well and showed they paid attention to detail. Great look to the hotel and it still feels 'new'. Very clean and spacious room (corner king). I will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Corner King is definitely worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We came to Chicago for a family wedding in December and stayed 3 nights at the Thompson. The hotel just recently opened and it's wonderful. The staff is friendly and accommodating- we had 4 rooms, 2 connecting- no problem. Front Desk Manager, Imran, went above and beyond to make our stay a great experience. He was friendly, funny, informative and hospitable. Mark at Concierge was just as great and we were greeted everyday by the friendly doormen and front desk staff. Ask for a corner room overlooking Bellevue Place to get a great feel for the city. The rooms were upscale, the beds were so comfortable and the bar scene in the lobby was happening. You can't beat the location and we can't wait to get back to Chicago to stay at the Thompson.

Room Tip: Corner room overlooking Bellevue or Rush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,787 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,342 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,466 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing