We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect stay.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My stay at the Thompson Chicago was nothing short of excellent. From the moment I walked in, I enjoyed the "feel" of it, as it felt a bit, I don't know, more "hip" than other places I've stayed. The bar and restaurant downstairs were phenomenal, but very packed. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the concierge was incredibly knowledgeable of the local restaurants, steering me to one of the best meals I've had in my life. The local area is packed with great places for food and drink, and it's not far from shopping, should that be your kind of thing. The room was excellent, and while the wireless internet (which was free) seemed a bit finicky, it was at least uncomplicated to connect to. Would I stay again? The real question is, the next time I visit Chicago, why would I stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neville C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,559
    333
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
342
818
76
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I were in from out of town. We were looking for somewhere with a great location and a great price for my birthday. The staff was very kind and helpful for when we needed ideas to visit. We are always concerned with the cleanliness of rooms when we stay at hotels and I will have to say this was one of the cleanest rooms we have been in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Blake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I spent one evening at the Thompson Chicago to celebrate my birthday. I loved all the English styled furnishings. The location was incredible. Restaurants and shops all within walking distance. On a very cold January evening , it was very important. Loved the breakfast at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

So glad we picked the Thompson for our hotel. Great location, and all kinds of fabulousness! The rooms where very clean, big and comfortable. The bathroom was awesome I'm a sucker for a rain shower head so I was in my glory. We ate at the hotel restaurant witch was amazing and hoppin. There was all kinds of fashionable fabulous people to watch. The bar that is attached to the restaurant was just as busy. great place for singles and couples. The location couldn't be more perfect right in the heart of shopping bars and restaurants. We didn't have to take a cab all weekend we could walk where ever we wanted to be it was great! Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the standard king rooms it was perfect for us great bed great bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jehad Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is one style-ish yet very homey hotel. I loved the bathrooms...have a rain shower head that comes from directly overhead. The service was excellent as well. My only regret is that I was not able to try out Nico, the hot hot restaurant in the hotel. Next time!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WickedCubsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Both my husband and I thought this was our best stay in downtown Chicago ever! Very welcoming, friendly, attentive employees from the front desk, bellman, car attendant, restaurant and bar employees. We were very impressed! We were celebrating our anniversary and they even had chocolate covered strawberries and a congratulations note waiting for us in the room. Tastefully decorated in modern style -- we loved everything about this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room with a view of the lakefront -- awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ladymo1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We chose this location because our daughter lives in the Gold Coast and loved how close it was to her apartment. We went to celebrate her birthday and had dinner across the street at Gibson's (YUMMY!) Dan (the Eagle Scout) was very attentive and friendly! It was very clean and all the employee's were very helpful. I would have either liked the coffee/tea station to stay open until 11:00 a.m. or have small coffee makers up in the room. Overall, a great experience and we will stay at the Thompson Chicago again in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#13 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing