We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Property”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Thompson because of a Gilt promotion. I am so glad we did because there are always so many new hotels in the city. I knew it had a primo location but what a pleasant surprize - from the friendly doormen, personable front desk staff, very spacious guest rooms, amazing restaurant, and finally complimentary hotel car - we couldn't have asked for a better experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    333
    51
    15
    7
See reviews for
341
818
76
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
burlington, vermont
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I'v stayed in many Chicago hotels over the last few years, from Kimpton to Ritz Carlton, but the Thompson stands out as my favorite. From our first contact with "Dan" the bellman, to the front desk staff and bartender, the people were genuinely friendly and nice and helpful. I had a corner king and the room was spacious and well designed, great bathtub, super comfy bed, good lighting. The mini bar was well stocked and not outrageously expensive, the robe was soft, there were even flip flop slippers that I actually put on. When I needed to quickly run out to buy a white t-shirt, I asked where the closest place was and they wanted to drive me there or walk me there (I declined) to make it easy. Loved this hotel and was not happy about leaving. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the corner king. it's great. You can sometimes get a rate that includes parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank babspottay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is fabulous. Classy lobby and great design wherever you look. Sit at the bar and just feel how much fresher the air is with the full wall of plants. Rooms are spacious and artful as well. Fell head over heels for the light bulb lamp. Service was caring and thoughtful. All very wonderful. Tip: Get better pillows.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Thompson and it is absolutely amazing! The hotel itself is great and it's accompanied by a wonderful restaurant and lounge. I recommend it for anyone coming to Chicago. Right in the Gold Coast so location is prime!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After having 2 horrible nights at the Westin Michigan Avenue, I told my travel agent to book me into the best hotel in Chicago. I requested a Kimpton hotel, but he said that the Thompson Chicago was the way to go. I had never heard of the Thompson, but I sure am glad he recommended it. From check-in to check-out, I had a fabulous experience. The service, the restaurant, and the amenities saved the trip!

Room Tip: Delicious apples in the fitness room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hairtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Thompson for work purposes - it was effortlessly stylish, comfortable and welcoming. The showers were incredible as were the robes the right level of plush (and the slipper/flip flop combo). The beds and pillows left us with a great night's sleep and the room was impeccably clean both days. The restaurant in the hotel, was amazing - such fresh ceviche and oysters. We secured a deal through trip advisor that gave us complimentary valet parking, which was welcome since it was too cold to get around any way but driving. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bostonusah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Wow....spent 2 nights at this hotel and all I can say is first class. Arrival treatment was perfect....we felt like they were glad we arrived. Fast check in. we received a orientation when we were brought to our room. Room was great! It seemed to be new. Clean, comfortable, quiet. Awesome bathroom! This is by far the best property we have stayed in after 6 visits to Chicago for R&R. We booked the room through some amazon program which was the only negative. They (hotel manager) made us jump threw hoops and get them paperwork that seemed inconvenient since they showed the room as paid in full. It was not a deal breaker just less then perfect.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 13th....our friends had a room on the 8th and the 18th. All of us were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing