We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Wanting to escape winter we planned this last minute getaway to Chicago. The Thompson had a great 3 day experience that was very reasonable. Having heard about the Thompson hotels but having never stayed at one we jumped at the opportunity. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED!
From our arrival to departure everything was perfect. The basic room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was to die for. The art in the room was also very cool.
The lobby is a great place to hang out and watch people. The bar is very cool, we enjoyed drinks on 2 occasions. The dining room, Nico, was amazing, we had breakfast and dinner during our stay and these were are most enjoyable meals. It may be a little pricey but it was worth it.
We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a city view on the 14th floor and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank acedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,652
    352
    58
    17
    10
See reviews for
368
872
77
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I surprised my husband with a short stay-cation in Chicago. After researching, I decided on the Thompson. I couldn't have picked a better hotel. We were treated amazingly by the front desk staff, room service, bell staff, and car driver. Great views from our window. Great location close to all of the best restaurants and bars in town. If you are interested in top of the line service with great amenities, this is the place for you. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I love design, but not when it comes with aggravation of things that doesn't work. The Thompson Chicago has a perfect combination of design, common sense and efficiency. The strong masculine decor with some soft touches really worked for me. The rooms are fantastic, great sheets with all the little details that are great, USB ports, night lights etc. The staff are efficient, (except for when I arrived early, my room wasn't ready, the receptionist told me that she will call as soon as it was, but she didn't call, I called 5 hours later). At any rate, the location is fantastic, the restaurant's breakfast is superb, the italian breakfast, the kouign amman pastry, whipped ricotta and honey, not the usual fare, but simply excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great hotel in a great location. Sophisticated style, refined elegance. Stay here for 4 nights recently and really enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. The lobby was great, attached restaurant was trendy and delicious, and the rooms were very comfortable. Staff was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

i cant imagine staying anyplace other than the thompson hotel. ive recently discovered this hidden gem. from the beautiful lobby and bar to the pleasant room, i was completely satisfied with my stay. the hotel's location was perfect, lots of nice restaurants, nightclubs, bars and shops to keep you busy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Afefe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Everything about our weekend stay was perfect. Gorgeous room, fabulous"corner view of Lake and city. Close to rush St, North Michigan Avenue. Our deal included parking and a $30 credit top use in the hotel.
Extremely helpful staff. Beautiful facility. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely, comfortable, flawless. Super-competent, engaging staff. Excellent bar and restaurant (try an Old Fashioned made with rye). Perfect place for a short getaway, but nice for business, too. Ask for room on high floor....lakeside or city view each have advantages, so take either. We had lake view, and it was lovely to awake to sunrise over the lake, but sunset over the city is great, too. And it is a great value to top it all off. Would go back back again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,830 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,390 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,487 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing