We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indeal place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Indeal place to stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed three nights with our family of four and could not have had a more enjoyable stay. The entire staff was extremely helpful and the valet service was super friendly. The restaurant is also outstanding. The room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: A higher floor and facing the lake is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,557
    333
    51
    15
    7
See reviews for
341
818
76
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Thompson has done it again with this spectacular property in Chicago. The location is ideal- close to the loop and N Michigan and on a nice corner with some interesting bars and restaurants that energize the locale. The service is super friendly (and genuine). The interior design is exactly what I would expect from Thompson- breathtaking. The restaurant Nico was very good for breakfast and lunch. I am so looking forward to my next trip to Chicago to stay again. Best part- corner king rooms have a huge soaking tub which was a real treat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dmorela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel was amazing, the staff went above and beyond and the ambiance was delightful! Thompson Hotel is a MUST for your next trip to Chicago! It is located is a very convenient area, with very cool restaurants and shops just a few feet away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alyson s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
426 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our friends were actually staying here and we went up to the room after having drinks in the bar downstairs. Bar is lively to say the least and good cocktails and has a fun vibe--I was with hard core cocktail drinkers and they were suitably impressed. Room was cool/groovy and seemed spacious enough with a nice bath/amenities. The lobby is cool too--the Nico Osteria energy spills out on 2 sides (so to speak). I did feel a little bit of a "we're such hipsters" undercurrent but you can't beat the location and it is a fun environment with cool decor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsH0dges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. The location is just perfect. The staff is very nice and the room are very well decorated, spacious and comfortable. The hotel bar is very cool and has great cocktail and a very good wine list. We also had the best oysters ever. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIngston, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I like to think that I know high quality hotels and in many ways, they are pretty much cut from the same cloth. Not so for the Thompson. From the moment I arrived, when the person checking us in (a family of four) I knew that this would be a great experience. She was solicitous, friendly, accommodating, interested and interesting. And that was just the check in!

The concierge was superb (Thanks Cheryl!). She booked us Cubs tickets and provided quick -- while I waited -- recommendations and availability for local restaurants. She immediately knew what I was interested in and had great recommendations.

The bar on the main floor is uber cool without being pretentious. The drinks are not expensive but the drink menu will make you want to stay there.

It's not that I would stay in this hotel when I go back to Chicago but rather I would go back to Chicago to stay in this hotel. Sorry to be so effusive, but it ranks as peerless among the hotels I have stayed in given the price, location and service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is amazing and the location cannot be beat! Great bars, restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. The staff is extremely kind and friendly.... they are what really set this place apart from the rest! BOOK IT! LOVE IT!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing