We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for shopping, dining and Sighseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #6 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is understated yet trendy and it is just one block from Michigan Avenue a/k/a the Magnificent Mile known for the high-end shops along the avenue. The hotel is also around the corner from Oak Street, known for its even higher-end shops. But there are restaurants galore including Nico in the hotel lobby, which is one of Chicago's hottest right now.

Our room was a good size with a nice bathroom complete with a large walk-in shower. The was a desk, safe, minibar and free WiFi

Unless I had to be near the business district, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
There are newer reviews for Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at The Thompson over Easter Weekend and could not have been happier with the hotel, the service, the drinks and the location - a MUST in Chicago! The location doesn't get much better and we were shocked that we could take public transportation from Midway into the city for $2.25 and end up only a few blocks for the hotel.

Our room was a standard King and was spacious, clean, beautiful bathrooms and the beds are at a level of comfort unrivalled.

If you like a very quiet hotel, you may want to choose the Four Seasons or the Ritz as the hotel restaurant and bar are evening hot spots. We loved it - every night when we came home, we made our way to the lounge for a drink. If you like stuffy, uptight and quiet, go somewhere else. If you like hip, urban, friendly and amazing - stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We received an Excellent service specially by the manager Imran Jiwani himself. It is located in midst of all attraction not far from Oak street beach and Rush street. Bathrooms were clean . We didn't try food and so I wouldn't comment. Overall we loved staying there .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Spent the Easter weekend at the Thompson Chicago with my girlfriend and had a fantastic time. The hotel itself has the feel of a smaller boutique style hotel with very funky decor and a really laid back feel. The service was top quality and very frienndly throughout. The room was very clean and had all the expected features including a great view of Lake Michigan. The location of the hotel is superb - five minutes walk from the Mag Mile and also five minutes from the beach. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lorcan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Thompson Chicago from April 22nd - 25th with my boyfriend for our annual getaway trip. Excellent customer service from the doormen to concierge. Our room (1112) was super clean and the modern decor makes our stay even more enjoyable. No ice machine but ice is only 1 call away and was delievered within 5 minutes. Some minor issues with the room, the cold water faucet wasnt working on our first night and the tv brightness was too dark - spoke to the concierge the next morning and by the time we came back at night both issues were fixed. Bed was heavenly. Nico was amazing, everything about this hotel is excellent. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ctalllau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I cannot overstate the prime location of this hotel. Everything is within walking distance and there is so much to do. All the hotel staff were extremely accommodating and very sensitive to your needs. The atmosphere in the lobby and bar downstairs was always very welcoming and relaxing. The facilities in the room were top notch, very high-end and obviously very clean. I don't know what kind of bed it was, but it was VERY comfortable. The price was reasonable, as well.

Only two downsides I can think of: The ~$60/day valet is pretty much mandatory if you drive to this hotel. The cable TV service kept cutting out. The hotel staff admitted the chronic issues with their TV service and were willing to move me to a room closer to the main cable box. But it all worked out. Overall I am extremely happy with my experience here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our family of four was accommodated wonderfully in this beautiful hotel in downtown Chicago. The Thompson Chicago provided comfortable contemporary rooms with panoramic views and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect with an easy walk or quick cab ride to many popular destinations along N Michigan Avenue. The icing on the cake was having Nico Osteria restaurant right in the hotel. My only regret was that I couldn't stay longer. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 191 in Chicago
2,861 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,438 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
1,513 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £151 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing