We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #6 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicagoland area
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great night stay”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is probably the best hotel in Chicago. It has a prefect location. The staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. We stayed after a Blackhawks game. I wish we would of had more time. It was my wife's birthday. They upgraded us for free. THANKS We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,588
    337
    53
    16
    8
See reviews for
349
827
76
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We picked this based on reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed! Location is fantastic, corner if Bellevue and Rush and a block off Michigan Ave. it is in the heart of the Gold Coast, very cool boutiques around Oak Street and wonderful restaurants close within walking distance. Tavern on Rush is right across the street. The staff is Fantastic! From the moment we checked in to our checkout and car retrieval! So friendly, helpful and customer oriented, didn't make you feel as if you were an imposition, but really a guest! Can't say enough about the feeling this hotel gives you, very warm and inviting! The rooms are modern and clean, bathroom is well appointed and shower is huge! We ate brunch at the hotel and it was to die for! Again, incredible service, knowledgeable and friendly staff and the food was EXCELLENT! We were there for mom's day with our three girls, 18, 21 and 23. They would definitely go back! Please check it out, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queeniefromthezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Great location to shopping and restaurants. The matress was very comfortable, but no top sheet. The thermostat was set at 65 degrees and the room was warm to sleep in with only a quilt.Luxury bath robes to relax in. Deep hydrology bathtub and a separate shower with rainshower showerhead. All the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Thompson comes to Chicago ! YEAH ! Like staying in the Thompson Hotels in NYC. So when this opened, I was excited to try it. Especially as I am in Chicago very often. Have an office there.

And super glad that I did. Gary, the "Lead Ambassador" for the hotel greeted me in style and with no pressure at the front door. He was a great resource during the trip. Gina and Sue were super at the front desk.

Decor is new, hip and appealing. I liked that there were entrances on both Belleview as well as State.

The room had great lighting, well controlled and appealing for the decor which was decidedly modern. The bathroom decor was a little harsh for me in retro black and white tile (in vogue du jour I suppose) but there was ONE really great thing. The shower. With both a rain head and wand, it ROCKED. They actually got the controls right. ;-) I could turn the water on and adjust it WITHOUT getting into the water stream. (A pet peeve of mine)

They had a complimentary car service for short distances a'la the Acura service at W Hotels.

All around? A greta experience. I will be back. Likely even next week.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLYBOY888PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I, both first-time visitors the city, stayed four nights over the Easter weekend at the Thompson Chicago; this remains by far our best hotel experience to date. Located on a quaint, quieter street, you would never guess that this hotel is only a few minutes walking distance from the Mag Mile, Lou Malnati's legendary deep-dish pizza, Hash House a go go's amazing chicken and waffles, the Clark and Division "L" station for getting around the city, music clubs, bars, and more. A perfect pied-à-terre for exploring Chicago!

The hotel itself surpassed all expectations. It was beautifully decorated and sparkling clean; the room itself was clean, fun and the bed was comfy, plush and cozy. It always amazes me how original interior design can make a person's stay more memorable! Staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. A special THANK YOU! to our concierge, Cheryl, who went above and beyond in arranging sports tickets and transportation, and just making us feel welcome; to her colleagues who took care of restaurant reservations; and to Louis who made sure we got to the hockey game in style and on time! We'd also like to give three cheers to the gentlemen mixologists at the beautiful Salone Nico, who helped every evening close with fun conversation and imaginative (and delicious!) cocktails.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends or family. We had a wonderful time, and look forward to our next stay at the Thompson Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

When we checked in they offered an upgraded room at no additional fee. The room was lovely, with a nice view of downtown Chicago. The shower was wonderful -large with a choice of rainfall shower or handheld. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank asbpgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Amazing location of the hotel provides with a great choice of wonderful restaurants in the area. Very nice little walk takes you to the best shops. The bar and restaurant in Thompson Hotel not only have amazing menus but also very welcoming, friendly and pleasant personnel.
I'm definitely staying in this hotel next time I'm in Chicago!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renardetka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,729 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,307 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,446 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing