We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was at home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #9 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

No words can describe how awesome and friendly the hotel is. The staff is great: they do everything in your need. The front desk welcomes you, makes sure everything is set and ready for you as soon as you walk in. The concierge was very helpful with getting around the city and recommending the top restaurants to eat at! The location is even better, perfect location in downtown that's not too busy and awesome views from any room at the hotel! I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajla_Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,783 - 1,789 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Terrific location for a great hotel. Four star service from the entire staff - from valet to bell persons to front desk to concierge. Nicely appointed, well designed rooms. Rare for a hotel, the ground floor restaurant Nico is known in its own right and did not disappoint. This is now our go to hotel in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 7candicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

How can one even begin to explain how wonderful our experience staying at The Thompson was? Simply stated the staff, the location, the form and function of the rooms, the restaurant (Nico) and their amazing staff deserve grand accolades. My partner and I travel frequently all over the states, from the East Coast to the West Coast, and I am comfortable saying, this was/is the most wonderful experience we have ever had. I can't thank the staff enough for treating us like royalty; Especially, the Team at Nico.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifejourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I get my bookings through Magellan Hotels. They beat the price by almost $80/per night than any on-line booking company. We had a corner bedroom room with separate shower and separate bathtub. A corner view in a seating area with a lovely sofa and huge flat screen TV in the bedroom and sitting area (2 TVs). Staff is attentive. You have to use your room key to ride on the elevator, which the staff doesn't explain that. It's in a great location and use of the car and driver is great.I found the room and bathroom to be very clean. I would love to stay here again. It's quiet and the beds are very comfortable. It was hard trying to figure out how to turn on the lights.

Room Tip: use Magellan to book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simbathebigpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Can't explain here by any words, amazing Location, comfortable Room, very Clean great service, and very friendly staff. Except Breakfast that I wish was include, the other things were amazing and fabulous. I am so happy to chose this hotel and highly recommend it to you too

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife, baby and I had the chance to stay 8 nights at the Thompson Chicago.
The surrounding areas are great! Nice boutiques around as well as great dinning options.
Staff was absolutely helpful and friendly.
The room was amazing, nice views to the city arquitecture landscape.
I can only recommend this hotel, if you can afford it make an effort to stay in the corner suites, these are a little bit more spacious, include a very cool bathtub.
Finally, the Nico Osteria serves some amazing dishes, not only for dinner but also for breakfast and lunch. I ordered severaltimes from the room-service menu and I can only recommend the rigatone and the hamburger.

Room Tip: Make an effort to stay in the corner suites, these are a little bit more spacious, include a very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROGALA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Thompson was amazing. I had a flight cancelled and their staff and flawless hotel room was such a treat. I didn't have a car, but it is an easy walk around the neighborhood to dining, shopping, and sights. I look forward to visiting their other locations!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riah54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#19 of 191 in Chicago
3,109 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 191 in Chicago
2,288 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 191 in Chicago
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £142 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing