We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff, nice room, nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, nice room, nice view”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Thompson Chicago. Super friendly staff. The location was great and a nice walk to the lake or river. Also near the public bicycle rentals for a nice ride along the lake. The staff helped us get a dinner reservation in a great restaurant. The team at the Thompson helped make our first visit to Chicago a great one. We had a corner room with both lake and city views from the 18th floor. We also witnessed a powerful lightning storm from our room. Wow!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarkWWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    333
    51
    15
    7
See reviews for
341
816
76
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Thompson Chicago for a weekend getaway. This hotel exceeded all my expectations by far. -- The decor is chic & aesthetically pleasing to the eye. As you walk in, you'll feel the coziness of a modern & quaint boutique hotel.

The customer service was professional, friendly and very helpful. The location is perfect if you are looking to stay around less "touristy" restaurants in Chicago. Yet, Michigan Ave is right around the corner from the Thompson - making everything accessible within walking distance.

The Thompson hotel lived up to every picture on their website. This Chicago gem is by far my favorite so far - it's chic, intimate and MAGNIFICENT!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoxAnnMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

From the moment we arrived at The Thompson, our experience was nothing less than perfect. Staying for an anniversary weekend, we were immediately upgraded to a posh penthouse suite, which was impeccably clean and amazingly comfortable. The staff was not at all pretentious (which you often find at a hotel of this caliber), but instead was helpful, welcoming, professional and accommodating. It was not an inexpensive stay, but for the special occasion, it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

No words can describe how awesome and friendly the hotel is. The staff is great: they do everything in your need. The front desk welcomes you, makes sure everything is set and ready for you as soon as you walk in. The concierge was very helpful with getting around the city and recommending the top restaurants to eat at! The location is even better, perfect location in downtown that's not too busy and awesome views from any room at the hotel! I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajla_Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Terrific location for a great hotel. Four star service from the entire staff - from valet to bell persons to front desk to concierge. Nicely appointed, well designed rooms. Rare for a hotel, the ground floor restaurant Nico is known in its own right and did not disappoint. This is now our go to hotel in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 7candicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

How can one even begin to explain how wonderful our experience staying at The Thompson was? Simply stated the staff, the location, the form and function of the rooms, the restaurant (Nico) and their amazing staff deserve grand accolades. My partner and I travel frequently all over the states, from the East Coast to the West Coast, and I am comfortable saying, this was/is the most wonderful experience we have ever had. I can't thank the staff enough for treating us like royalty; Especially, the Team at Nico.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifejourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I get my bookings through Magellan Hotels. They beat the price by almost $80/per night than any on-line booking company. We had a corner bedroom room with separate shower and separate bathtub. A corner view in a seating area with a lovely sofa and huge flat screen TV in the bedroom and sitting area (2 TVs). Staff is attentive. You have to use your room key to ride on the elevator, which the staff doesn't explain that. It's in a great location and use of the car and driver is great.I found the room and bathroom to be very clean. I would love to stay here again. It's quiet and the beds are very comfortable. It was hard trying to figure out how to turn on the lights.

Room Tip: use Magellan to book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simbathebigpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing