We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thompson Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thompson Chicago”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hello, this is a awesome hotel to stay at while in Chicago. The service at this hotel is awesome and the staff is very approachable and friendly in answering all of your questions. The location is very good as well, very easy to get to dining and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,613
    342
    56
    17
    8
See reviews for
356
845
77
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of the $5 Waffle or wheel promotion. I had to pay only $5 for parking. I really liked their contemporary ambiance. We got a corner room with 2 double beds because we have 2 kids. The beds were not quite comfortably big enough for us to share. We loved the location of this hotel. Just in front of the hotel there is a pancake house for breakfast and the corner of the hotel building was always crowded with people waiting in line because all the restaurants near hotel are so popular in town. Barns and nobles book store, Starbucks, seven eleven are all located in 3 min walk distance. Very close to Magnificent mile and top brand boutiques around the corner.
loved the corner room with huge windows. Hotel staff are very friendly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fatginger29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

There is no the hotel in Chicago that I would rather stay at. Everyone was so accommodating. What a joy it was to stay at a hotel in the big city that made me feel like I was at home. Larkin, Sean, and Sam made our stay especially memorable. I cannot wait to go back to this wonderful hotel in the best location in Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruitybulldogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chenequa, WI
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

First time staying at the Thompson, and loved it! Awesome location right on Rush Street. Nice Boutique feel, decent size rooms with great views of Chicago. Super friendly staff and great service! Location location location, the Thompson has it! Would recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Stayed on 19th floor-great views of Chicago
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganLakeCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Located in the Gold Coast area of Chicago, this hotel is a refreshing change from some of the larger hotels in the downtown area. The staff was upbeat and eager to help with dinner recommendations or requests; it seems as though they truly want your time in Chicago to be perfect. I typically stay right on the Magnificent Mile, but I like the Thompson's location because it's a little quieter although you still have easy walking access to all the Michigan Avenue shopping and restaurants. Oak Street Beach is also super close, and I really enjoyed wandering quaint tree-lined Oak Street and checking out the boutiques along the way. The hotel room was well appointed; a comfortable bed, a nice work space and large shower. The ONLY thing was that the art above the bed was just plain strange, but I think that can be overlooked based on the other features of the hotel. The lobby and hotel bar are nice spaces, too. Overall, it would be hard for me NOT to stay at the Thompson next time I'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked this hotel for our first night based on TA reviews and it was fantastic. Asked for a room on a high floor and we had an awesome view of both the lake and the city from our very stylish and very comfortable room. Hotel just around the corner from the huge variety of restaurants on Rush Street and a couple of blocks from the shops on Michigan Avenue.

A brilliant introduction to America hospitality and service on my first visit to the USA.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed one night for a 2 day shopping trip. Trendy feel to satisfy my teenager! Check staff was friendly and helpful. We got there at noon and our room was ready by 2:00. Nice corner room with views on the 16th floor. Location very good for shopping and dining. Room clean and bed comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpletreegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,787 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,341 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,466 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing