We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel....just a couple of things they could have done to make it better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It definitely has some great features;
We loved the location
We loved the decor
The rooms were very spacious
Great views from the bedrooms
Liked the free tea and coffee in the lobby in the morning
Everything is very clean, fresh and smells new
There were a couple of negative points, although I would like to add they were not much and I would definitely stay here again;
When we arrived at 1am after a very delayed flight, the person at reception, said that they would like to upgrade us, which I thought was excellent and very kind. She then said it would cost us an extra $80 per night. The way it was said slightly annoyed me. We thought we were being upgraded for free and then the cost was snuck into the end of the conversation.
The housekeeping were a little mean with the shampoo, condition, soap etc. we had to call down to request additional items as things weren't replaced and there wasn't enough for both of us the next day.
However I would like to point out that these are very minor things and I did really enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: As for a room higher up
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,669 - 1,675 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We toured Chicago on this trip with two of our teenage grandsons, covering the gamut of sites and evening entertainment. Our grandsons commented on our flight home that the hotel was one of their three favorite experiences in Chicago.

Room Tip: We had two rooms on opposite sides of the hotel (N & S). Both had pleasing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The property and room was great. Everyone we dealt with, valet, front desk, were pleasant. Unfortunately the entire visit was marred by something that happened before we got there. When I placed my initial reservation, I dropped off the promo code for $5 parking. I realized my error right away and called the hotel. They told me to call Orbitz, who said I had to cancel my unrefundable reservation and place another (did I say it was unrefundable?). I waited a couple days and tried the hotel again, thinking surely this was fixable, but alas they were unable to help me, I don't know why. So I got to spend $62 a night for parking, instead. So while I enjoyed the hotel, I won't be back.

Room Tip: The city view from the 20th floor was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Smblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the moment we arrived at the Thompson we were made to feel welcomed! The front desk was awesome. Kudos especially to Larkin and Cheryl who were especially instrumental in the little extras like acknowledging birthdays with cupcakes from Sprinkles, arranging for the use of vehicles and providing great directions to avoid traffic congestion. Friendly smiles go a long way in making you feel at home. Although the rooms are a little smaller than average, the bathrooms are substantial, the rooms are clean and updated and the views and airiness from the corner room can't be beat! Great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sert8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This place is so fine, I didn't want to leave. Location is perfect. Had a little trouble getting a confirmation but did eventually. I want to go back with my husband to spend time at the chic lounge and definately intend to.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jessie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My 5 day stay at the Thompson's Chicago was such an amazing experience. My room was superb. The view was superb. The service was superb. Our food at Nicos was excellent. I would definitely go back any day and i highly recommend this hotel for either business and for pleasure.
Amazing. Thank You!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

From the moment you arrive, you are treated magnificently! ALL of the hotel staff were just wonderful. Very helpful and went above and beyond to make sure that you were comfortable. This was our first time in Chicago so this was a wonderful first impression.
The rooms are spectacular and the bathrooms are wonderful. The rooms were spotless.
Very quiet hotel with no noise from the hallways.
There are no coffee makers in the room but there is coffee and tea every morning in the hotel lobby.
There is a restaurant on site but we did not eat there. Looked great though.
Hotel is located in a great section of town with many restaurants within walking distance. You can easily walk to the beach at Lake Michigan and to the beautiful stores on Michigan Ave.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank littleworl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
3,010 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,234 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 21 E. Bellevue Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £133 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping floor-to-ceiling vistas of the Chicago skyline and Great Lake waterscape daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing